Happy Times

DSC_4230

It was a lovely week! The youngest Walker boy, college student in Toronto, came home for 10 days, for a well earned mollycoddling by his parents. It was a sweet reunion for Charley and her best friend. Pure Bliss!

DSC_4206-001

I found a sweet vase whilst treasure hunting, filled it with crabapple branches, it has a nice fall feeling. Since fall is my favorite season, this vase make me very happy.

DSC_3737

No fall outside yet, it is still very hot…oh well, that gives nice images too.

DSC_4224

These gorgeous teacups were softly singing to me in the Anthropology store. This pattern will be discontinued and since these were the last three, they were half price. Of course, I took them home. Tea tastes some much better in a good cup.

DSC_4226

Re-read this wonderful Victorian novel, borrowed this nice old copy from the oldest Walker boy.

DSC_4200

The story seems even better, read from these yellowed pages.

DSC_4253

Ploughing onwards with Calligraphy…the teacher said, there was ‘some improvement’…I suspect this is not my hidden talent but it is nice to learn the techniques anyway ;0)

DSC_4255

I did discover more use of the translucent qualities of calligraphy paper…

storm001.tif

Aaaaand the Youngest Walker boy agreed to watch the magnificent movie Dean Spanley with me. I have seen this movie so many times and each time I discover something new to the story. Young Mr. Walker agreed: this is a magnificent movie. Coming form a boy who is very, very much into Science Fiction…you understand: you have to watch this movie too.

Wat een heerlijke week, met onze jongste zoon thuis! T weer was heet maar de koopjes goed. Kalligraferen blijkt geen onvermoed talent van mij, maar t is leuk om de techniek te leren. En met t doorschijnende papier kan je meer leuke dingen doen;0) En we zagen de prachtige film Dean Spanley: een aanrader! Heb een prettig weekend!

Have a Great Weekend,

Johanna.

 

23 thoughts on “Happy Times

    • Thank you Cynthia! To me mollycoddling has such a cozy and caring ring to it…when you spoil someone special pleasantly with tea and cookies and cooking favorite meals and making sure the bed is made extra nice and the flowers in the vase are fresh! I am pleased to picked up on that word but of course, you are a writer;0) Have a lovely weekend!

  1. These pictures are so sweet, thanks for sharing them and the stories of the recent happenings. Charley is just too cute!
    love the vase and the cups and your drawing of the lady in red!
    Enjoy the weekend ❀

    • Thank you Benjamin. I had to look up Bumbershoot..never heard of it: English is my second language and I love learning new words. Bumbershoot seems so much more appropriate in this drawing than umbrella;0)

  2. What a wonderful, wonderful photo to have of your Charley and young Mr Walker. I do love Anthropologies sale goodies too. Their music in the Edmonton store is banana’s though, crazy loud.
    I will definitely look for Dean Spangle. It looks totals fantastic and whimsical. “The best thing about Thursday is it keeps Wednesday and Friday from knocking into each other”…..ha, that dry english humour is delightful. Of course, being a dog lover I’m very curious as to what goes on with that. Thanks so much for the introduction, I’d never heard of it before. Happy weekend to you and yours πŸ˜€

    • Thank you Bomdee…those two together is really a feast for the eye. When my youngest is home she is crazy with love and affection and will lay on his feet all the time. He is her ‘special baby’.
      Too bad about the loud music in your Anthr. store. I am a sucker for that store, I admit;0) Ours is on the other hand a bit of a posh one in a posh mall and the sales persons all very young, very stylish girls with soft voices sort of swarming around you. So I will take deep breath before entering and pretend to be a little posh too…the tea cups were worth it;0)

  3. Beautiful pictures, Johanna! Charley looks so happy and content. Your new vase is heavenly – as is the statue it lives beside. Love the pearls! You are very wise about tea drinking and reading – yes tea does taste better from a good cup and words come alive off yellowing pages. I love the smell, the feel and the look of old books. Thanks also for sharing your calligraphy and latest drawing – you are a talent – no doubt about it! Off to check out your movie recommendation now. Have a great weekend! xoxoxox

    • Thank you Dany! we originate from the northern parts of The Netherlands and he is a famous character from a novel situated in that part of the country. The city we lived in has a ‘real life’ statue and when we immigrated to Canada my in-laws gave us this copy: a thoughtful gift. I always dress it up for the season a bit ;0)
      And delighted to hear we are kindred spirits when it comes to tea and books! And thank you to for the lovely compliment on my drawing! Cheers to the other side of the world!

  4. Had to come back and say – can’t wait to see the movie in full after just watching the trailer you provided. Jeremy Northam is a babe! Fell in love with him in “Emma” Thanks heaps for the recommendation, Johanna – I’d never heard of it before. xoxox

    • I must admit, Jeremy Northam is not too bad;0) I also think he has a beautiful voice. And oh well, I think there are many men who look very well in tweeds in a Victorian house ;0) Enjoy the movie!!

  5. Fabulous post, Johanna! What a precious photo of your son and Charley. I love all of your little decorative items and those teacups are beautiful. I had never heard of that movie before but have added it to my list now on Netflix. Looks intriguing! Your calligraphy is really coming along. I took a class years ago and really enjoyed it. Then I did nothing with it! Boo… Cute, cute drawing! I hope you have a wonderful weekend. I can’t believe it’s here already! πŸ˜€

    • Cliche but true…time flies when you are having fun! I am really amazed it is the end of August already..I thought summer has just started ;0)
      Thanks for all the lovely compliments, have a lovely weekend!

  6. Your drawing tells a whole story! I love the way you captured movement–the wind and waves look like calligraphy swirls to me! Maybe that is another way your calligraphy lessons will pay off. It does sound like a wonderful week–and I can tell Charley thinks so, too. She is smiling.

  7. That’s why indeed I like having all those classes. I learn so much, wether I am good at it or not it does bring something. I am happy you liked the drawing! The calligraphy paper is translucent and the different light and shadows shining through it gives it different atmospheres all through the day. Charley send hugs and kisses.

  8. So much to love about this post, J. I love your son snoozing with the dog. What a heartwarming image. Sweet love for sure.

    Your drawing! Oh my your drawing is fabulous. I didn’t know. I love the whimsy, the style, the colors. Nicely done.

    I too am a fan of Anthropologie. They are always doing something clever with their displays. Lots of fun things to plow through, too. I’m glad you found some pretty tea cups, on sale no less. Score!

Leave a Reply

