Peace and Tea

cuppa tea002

“A cup of tea would restore my normality.”

‘Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’ by Douglas Adams

DSC_4956-001

Yup, a devoted tea drinker, every day, all day. I brew a big pot in the morning..pour it in the thermos and keep on sipping all day. I had a nasty flu..so even more tea was needed!

“The twitch above my right eye will disappear with knitting practice.”

At Knit’s End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much’  by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

DSC_5241

I had a delightful deal on the variegated yarn…got two of those balls. This will be a new hat but there is enough too for socks and what nots. Good medicine too.

DSC_5214

Well and a wintery sunset, viewed from my kitchen window. Even better medicine..Achoo!

DSC_4894

Nurse Charley…Zuster Charley…

Een akelig griepje velde me maar ik vond troost in thee, breien en haken en een prachtige winterse zonsondergang…hatsjie!

Love and Liefs, Johanna

31 thoughts on “Peace and Tea

  1. I love all your photos, Johanna. Sure wish you were closer and could help me figure out a crochet pattern. I’ve moved on and found one a bit simpler at this point in time. Now if my yarn would just get here! That picture of Charley would be ideal enlarged, framed and hanging on one of your walls! It’s gorgeous! 🙂 I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been down with that flu bug. I’ve been away from WP longer than normal and have fallen behind. I hope you’re doing well now. You take care! Hugs!

    • thank you Linda and Charley wagged her tail happily when I read your compliment to her! And moving on to a simple pattern would have been my advise indeed. but It would be nice if lived closer;0)

  2. What a lovely illustration & photos. Tea is the best thing for colds and flu…I go through pots of them here! I’m sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather, but nice to see your comforts of home and furry nurse. I’ve been nursing my little girl, but the cough just keeps getting worse. Off to the doctor for a check up. Can we borrow Charley? 🙂

      • Hi Johanna,
        It’ll be a big turkey dinner for my wife, but not for me. She’ll be visiting with her daughter in California, and I’ll be staying here in Fredericksburg, taking care of our “zoo”. We don’t want to put them up in a kennel too often. And also someone needs to be here to watch over the building of the new garage.
        Have a great day,
        Pit

    • Well I certainly hope that you and zoo will shae some ‘goodies’ together! And that garage really needs a new name…it is too gorgeous to be called garage;0) Have a great Thanks Giving with the zoo!

      • Hi Johanna,
        In Karnes City we call our new garage a “garn”, as it is both a garage and a barn. Here, we’re thinking of “gark”, as it is both a garage and a workshop. But that, of course, doesn’t reflect on the fact that it looks so nice. Thanks for the praise, btw.
        Have great Thanksgiving,
        Pit

  3. Oh for the love of tea, that too is my everyday treat to make each day a little better. I love your illustration, it really speaks to me, especially with our cold wintry days. I’m so sorry you have been sick but you are making such good progress on your knitting. And dear Charley – the best medicine ever!

    Hope you are feeling better and you will have special plans for Thanksgiving with your boys!

  4. Thank you, Cathe, I love getting feedback for my work…especially when it is enjoyed!
    My boys live in Toronto,Canada and their Thanks Giving is the third weekend in October and they invited us this time and we had lovely weekend with them! So now it will be a relaxed quiet long weekend for Mr.Walker and myself and hopefully I drank enough tea to be ready for a good hike again!
    What are your plans?

  5. Such a lovely post! And since i’ve only had a couple visits to your blog, I’ve learned a bit more about you. Of course, I hope that you are feeling better!! Charley makes a sweet companion, I have no doubt.
    Such talents you have! You draw and knit, and are a photographer, too! And while i’m a hot coffee drinker (iced tea for me), the tea drinkers I know have kindness in common.

  6. Thank you so much for your kind words! I am feeling much better and indeed Charley is best nurse and the sweetest companion. Ha, and how about that: all the hot coffee drinkers I know have kindness in common too;0) Happy Thanks Giving! Johanna

  7. With a nurse like that, of course you must be feeling better! I’m sorry to hear you were ill–especially during a holiday week. Knitting and tea sound like the right combination to get you through the worst of it . . . and are those chocolate chip cookies in the drawing?!

  8. I’m looking at a similar view out my window today too Johanna. Just not as lyrical as your illustration. The snowflakes were flying by at top speeds rather than swirling to and fro. I think the last illustration I commented on also had a window. Mmmmm, am I onto something there. Are you inside against your will, and secretly long to be out? Perhaps that’d make sense since you’ve been under the weather. Sorry to hear it, I really hope the tea is helping. Do you take one cookie or two? LOL. Whenever I’m indulging in a sweet desert, there must be coffee too. No matter the time of day. I did however just buy the Stash Red Velvet Tea. I’m hoping it’s their ‘Ruby Red’ but just renamed. It was always my favourite.

    • Do not worry Bomdee…I am confined to the house and miserable;0) Even under the weather, I enjoy my life! The other drawing with a window was a sketch for this one…and cookies always three, to be honest. Hearing about your taste for coffee and sweetness, I suspect some Scandinavian ancestory: coffee and sweeties are one word there, fika.

      • oh, interesting “Fika”, thanks for the tidbit. My ancestors (as far as I know) were from Austria. I’ve only been able to track back to my great grandparents though. They came to Canada in 1899 and moved to a prominently Ukrainian settlement here in Alberta. They were very poor. I love those show’s that track back centuries of ancestor history.

  9. How did I miss this post of yours?! And you were ill too! I feel terribly remiss. So glad you’re feeling better now. Although not a massive tea drinker (coffee being more my thing) I feel I would very much enjoy slipping into your picture for a chat, a cuppa and maybe one of those delicious looking cookies 🙂

  10. I love your drawing and photos. I also love my cups a tea..have collected a few teapots over the years. Hmm, think I’ll go and make a cup of tea, right now. 🙂 All the best, Janette.

Leave a Reply

