It Is Still Magic, You Know…

alanahorsematmorf001

Finished the last of the dog related illustrations and send them of. Now I am waiting eagerly for a web designer to use them. I must be patient for a couple of weeks now…So onwards and upwards with the next commission!

alanaseastar2001

I am studying and experimenting with new (to me) materials and techniques. I learn a lot from other illustrators as well. I love the work by Lauren Child.

alanaseastar2collage001

Here is the same drawing in a collage technique

alanaseastar2collage002-001

A bit difficult to see, but this one is enhanced with silver and gold details

alanaseastar2002

And than my usual technique with color pencils and fine liners.

And here a little sketch in pastel pencil, in honor of the marvelous writer Terry Pratchett. He passed away earlier this week. Not only is he the author of many of my favorite novels as ‘Mort’, ‘Witches Abroad’ and ‘The Wintersmith’ but he also wrote the most true and meaningful words: “It is still magic, you know, even if you know how it is done.”

terrypratchettwitch001

Weer druk aan de slag maar nu met de volgende opdracht. Ik bestudeer nieuwe methodes. Hier is dezelfde illustratie uitgevoerd in collage, collage met goud en zilver accenten en in mijn gebruikelijk stijl met kleurpotlood en fijnlijners. Maakte ook een schets met pastel potloden, metTerry PratchettΒ in gedachten, de fantastische schrijver die eerder deze week overleed.

Have a Magical Weekend,
Love and Liefs, Johanna

ps All you Lovely Facebook People who did kind things on my FB page…please be patient…I still have hardly a clue what I am doing there. In few weeks, my IT fellow (Youngest Mr. Walker), will help me further!! But thank you all so much!!!

 

50 thoughts on “It Is Still Magic, You Know…

  1. These are beautiful. It’s almost been a year since you started on this adventure–and look at where it’s taken you. Great success! (also Lauren Child is absolutely one of our favourites here too!)

    • Thank you Anne, that is so kind! I still a bit stupefied myself. And now I have been asked, to draw a calender as well, for a fundraiser for the local RSPCA.
      I am not surprised , you all like Lauren Child too! Hope your Sunday is brilliant! xo Johanna

  2. So awesome! I love the first one, of the horse transforming to a sea horse! Well, really, I love them all and the “it’s still magic” quote couldn’t be more perfectly suited to the post!

      • Yes, my weekend was great. Except for the fact that yesterday, while walking, I seem to have pulled a muscle in my right leg. That’s a d*** nuisance as it handicaps me in my exercising. Hopefully not for long.
        Have a great week,
        Pit

  3. I just had to write and tell you how much I love the first drawing- the one where the horse is tumbling into the water end slowly becomes a seahorse. I think it is truly beautiful and is, for me, one of your best. It reminds me of Escher’s work.
    Lovely……x

  4. I have tried to decide which of your drawings I like best but I can’t. I like them all!! We love Lauren Child here too. Elinor my daughter has so many of her books and wants to use Lauren’s style on one of her exam pieces this summer.

  5. Love them all, but your Terry Pratchett inspired one is my favourite. The likeness between Granny Weatherwax, Nanny Ogg and Magrat and The Goat Herd, Farm Girl and myself is often a point of hilarity here on the Homestead. πŸ™‚

    • Of course…kindred spirits again! There is a certain flavor to humor and wisdom of Terry Pratchett, it makes us laugh and nod in approval.. β€œAnd what would humans be without love?”RARE, said Death.” ― Terry Pratchett, Sourcery

  6. I really love the quote you’ve shared by Terry Pratchett. So true. A walk in the forest with our much loved pets, can be just as magical as planting seeds in the spring and enhancing a shabby bouquet with the blooms later. I even find the process of developing film rather magical and we’ve been doing this for some time now, LOL. It’s really everywhere, every day. I used the link for Terry too. Sad that he’s succumbed to Alzheimer’s. This terrible decease is so prevalent it seems.

    I also linked over to Lauren Child. I’d not heard of her before. Her characters are so whimsical aren’t they? I laughed at her friends dog’s name, ‘Sizzle’ Ha! Her style seems very sketchy and loose and silly looking. I liked that.

    It’s fun to see your sketch today because I’ve always been quite enamoured by Sea Horses actually. I bought the most beautiful Christmas Ornament in San Diego this December last. I placed it front and centre on my Aqua tree (yes, of course I have an Aqua tree, LOL)

    Enjoyed your composition of the sky meeting the sea too. All their smiling faces made me smile too. It’s interesting how your art looks with coloured pencil -vs- acrylics (?) It’d be hard for me to pick a favourite but I love the stars in your second piece. The gold dashing around them makes them glow. I actually did have a rather magical weekend so even though I missed your fab post last week, your wishes came through ❀ Keeping a little magic dust in my pocket for the week too xoxoxo Hugs K

  7. Dear Kelly, I am so happy both Terry Pratchett and Lauren Child appealed to you. And I agree Alzheimer is a cruel disease.

    And extra happy, the seahorse has a special place in your live. They are such remarkable creatures and so beautiful.
    keep sprinkling that fairy dust around, xo Johanna

  8. Dear Johanna, these are truly magical! I love how you metamorphose the horse to sea horse. And the colors and variations on the starfish pictures are beautiful! I hope all is well with you and yours and your upcoming weekend is delightful! Hugs! πŸ™‚ ❀

  9. Wonderful work dear Johanna!Magical the collage techiques you adopted and the sources of your inspiration.Art has so many expressions and your creativity gave it an extra dimension!No wonder you and the youngest Mr Walker experience the wonderful world of synaesthesia!It is still magic … yes,it is and your fascinating post is also a tribute to Terry Pratchett.Keep unfolding your artistic talent through your very special pencils and the colours of your heart.Warm hugs to you ,Doda πŸ™‚ xxx

    • Thank you so much Doda…I really love this commission. t is for a Children book and it will be a long process but I am so curious, almost impatient to see the end result! have a lovely week all the way in Greece xox Johanna

  10. Hi Joanna! It’s been so long since I’ve been able to visit and I’m so glad I saw this post. I adore the colors you used. So vivid, so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

