Another Diorama

DSC_6266

‘Children have one kind of silliness, as you know, and grown-ups have another kind.” -C.S. Lewis

DSC_6267

I love making dioramas. I saw this glass cone and knew it was perfect for another diorama. I just opened my drawer with small/found/discarded thingies…and out came this little sea world.

DSC_6263

I suppose psychologist have something to say about this…but I am not such a deep thinker ;0)

DSC_6274

Here and here are a few more.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

 

40 thoughts on “Another Diorama

  1. As I said before,your creativity is unending and everything becomes Art in your hands!Magnificent dioramas my sweet friend Johanna,I am lost in your wonderful sea world …
    C.S. Lewis’ quote is fun,but has no place here … Have a peaceful and creative Friday and weekend! Doda πŸ™‚

  2. Aaah…life in miniature. 😊. When I was little I loved making tiny gardens with moss for grass and mirrors for lakes.

    Your lighthouse is lovely. Have a great weekend. 😊

    • Isn’t there something wonderful indeed in life in miniature?? I want to make a dollhouse too…already for years;0) I share your childhood memory, loved making those gardens in a box. We had to do it often for a school project. Have a lovely Sunday!

  3. Holy cramolie…….SHARK attack! LOL, I think your dioramas are so fun, so why am I hearing that iconic music in my head? Do you know the one? You’re casually photographing a quaint little lighthouse when suddenly, you husband is eaten right of the beach by a flying shark.
    Hey? How did you get those rocks to stay in place. Looks like a game of jengak. Good pick on the plate, it’s like your little lighthouse is on an island guarded by a giant shark. xoxoxo

    • Really, your comments are little novels by itself…and since they are colored by music and ‘sounds’ I am talking graphic novels! When are following your vocation and make one in full color??
      I made the stones from airdrying clay and the sea too and painted it, ropeladder is old fashioned macrame and shark I found when walking in the forest, star was in a box of sweeties and the lighthouse in a box at the thriftstore…easypeasy but tons of fun ;0)

      • A graphic novel? Good gravy, I wonder what it’s going to be about?
        Maybe a young English woman that can talk to animals and solves crimes. My sidekicks would be a little black cat and a mouse named Maurice (ironic right?). It’d be part Murder She Wrote (I love Angela Lansbury) part Shaggy DA. I think she’d be rather sweat in an awkward way. An Audrey Hepburn/Columbo type character. A country girl by nature, living in the big city. You know, the ying/yang thing. Well, I think I’ve nailed it then, LOL xoxK

  4. Oh it is lovely! I did not spot the shark until I read the comments. This is a problem I suffer from in real life…….:(
    I love it anyway and I love that you just have to make these beautiful objects. Being creative is such a blessing. Have a lovely weekend.
    Karen x

    • Ohoh, sharks in real life! Maybe you should practice too in placing them under glass cones and shout ‘ha, what say you now, eh?!!!” and walk away laughing triumphantly! Have a lovely Sunday, my dear Karen, xo Johanna

  5. Love those dioramas even though the shark is a little scary πŸ˜‰ You’ve inspired me to think about making some of my own.

  6. This is so much fun–awesome! I was thinking it was so picturesque and sweet, until I saw the shark–that changed everything! And what was that glass cone originally intended for, do you think? It’s gorgeous just as a piece of glass.

    • Thanks Kerry!!! I think there used to be a standard with the cone and than it was a vase. I found in a box full of stuff and thought it perfect for a diorama, it catches the sunlight beautifully.

Leave a Reply

