Spring Valley Wildlife Area Revistited

DSC_6921

Mr. Walker and I took advantage of glorious Spring weather and went back to our favorite birding spot Spring Valley Wildlife Area. It was midwinter when we last went there.

g

We were not disappointed. Look at this Osprey…as if he surfing the air on a fish.

DSC_6875

The beautiful but ever so shy Sora. You have to look closely, so well camouflaged!

DSC_6877

Ahw, sweet little frog, basking in the sunshine

DSC_6883

This is a mystery…what animal did this?

DSC_6894

Mr. Walker’s favorite bird, the swallow.

DSC_6924

DSC_6925

DSC_6926

DSC_6927

And look at these geese landing…after this we scurried along, they were pretty clear and loud in what they thought about us…

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

Love and Liefs, Johanna

36 thoughts on “Spring Valley Wildlife Area Revistited

  1. Good morning, Johanna! You are really doing amazing things with your camera! The photos are so sharp and clear–what fabulous birds. I love the series of the geese landing–the view from straight ahead is cool. Enjoy your spring weather–ours is finally glorious, too!

  2. Breathtaking shots !!!!!! Wait lemme a gulp a bit of air !!!………. done πŸ™‚ , you are an amazing photographer Johanna πŸ˜€ So interesting birdies and a baby frog too !!!

    • Thank you Pauline, and indeed it is very beautiful in Spring Valley, our favorite birding spot. But I must say, the birds were very willing to pose in front of the camera that morning ;0) And I think your theory of the plant is the right one!! Thanks! Johanna

  3. Oh wow, gorgeous shots Johanna! You are very skilled with your cam. I love the birds and frog. Just yesterday I met a frog, while cleaning the yard. Very adorable πŸ™‚ I moved it closer to the pond, and she loved it! I guess I have a new pet haha. Have a lovely weekend! xo

    • Your garden is turning into a Paradise by the week! Frogs are good pets to have, the clean up a lot of insects…and fun to watch of course ;0) Happy you enjoyed my photos! xo Johanna

  4. Ah spring! These are such captivating images Johanna! I’m thinking about the same thing, getting out in nature and breathing deep. Your birds and frog, delightful! Thank you for sharing, just the perfect surprise with my morning coffee!

    • More people suggested this and I think indeed it is what happened. So far I have found no animals that can do such a thing in America. Thank you for helping solving the mystery!

  5. Such captivating photos, Johanna. I’d be hard pressed to pick a favorite! Looks like you’re finally getting that beautiful spring weather you’ve been waiting for! Have a fab weekend! πŸ™‚

  6. Wow, you are just as talented with your camera as you are with your pencils. I can’t get over these pictures. National Geographic, all the way!

  7. Beautiful shots as always Johanna! They are all so good I cannot say which I like best. I am pleased you have started to have some nice spring weather at last; I hope you had a lovely weekend Clare xx

  8. Thanks for the tour of the Spring Valley Wildlife area. Top photo of the osprey. Here in Weipa a few days ago I got a few lucky shots of an osprey catching a fish too! Such a thrill! πŸ˜„. Love the little frog and the shy bird. Great photos, Johanna. 😊

  9. How smart the County there was to set aside such a generous parcel of land for nature. 842 acres ! Seems like you could go many times and always see something new. Your camera sure captures quick action well. Those geese must have felt like a couple of celebrities with you snapping away πŸ˜€ They are pretty vocal at times hey? We actually hear them from our city yard because we’re quite close to the river. I considered them a nuisance at the lake, they’d come with the whole kindergarden of wee ones to poop all over your yard. They were really cute for about a week, but they grew very quickly, as did the mess they’d leave behind. Of course Buddy would just sit and watch them, LOL.
    I smiled when you mentioned that swallows were your favourite. Me too πŸ˜€ I had 4 birdhouses in my garden that were favourite nesting spots every spring. I’d sneak the odd peak but mama was always very close and I hated to upset her. I adore art works from the 40’s of rural scenes with swallows swooping around. It’s a nice time of year to wander in the woods, before the dreaded mosquito’s show up and spoil the party. Are they a bother in your neck of the woods (no pun intended, ha) xo K

Leave a Reply

