Bumble Bee

DSC_7081I love Bumble Bees, flying little bears they are. I was very pleased with this photo! And I have a sweet little story.

The Youngest Mr. Walker was quite a feisty child with a huge imagination. And sometimes, his temper would flare up and he would explode with annoyance at me and the world in general. “That’s it, I have had enough! I am out of here!”, my five year old would exclaim and stomp of to his room to return with his backpack packed with his favorite cuddly soft toy and pj’s.
He would glare at me with red cheeks, scowling dark eyes…also expectantly.
I would then look at him, most sorrowful and I would say: ” But my little Bumble Bee..whatever would I be without you?”  He would contemplate this for a few seconds and then he would sigh:   “OK, if that is the case…I will stay.” I would laugh with relieved delight, he would climb on my lap and the world was perfect again.

014_23-001

Love and Liefs, Johanna

68 thoughts on “Bumble Bee

  1. What a lovely story Johanna – and the bumble bee shot is one in a million, just like your son! It reminded me of a little note I still have tucked away in my memento pile written by my eight year old daughter who was feeling very cross with me about something now long forgotten. It reads ‘dere mummy I am cros and runing away and taking D [her little sister] to so now you can be cros love from joanna’ I’m happy to report that we ironed out those issues and both my babies decided to stay. 🙂

  2. Holy cow! That bee photo is the coolest shot ever–how in the world did you capture that?! The story about your son is adorable (and the photo, too!) Little kids always seem to want to run away and but, gladly, parents always can talk them into staying!

    • A couple of weeks ago, we were on the observation deck of Carew Tower https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carew_Tower and for some reason I do not understand these huge bumble bees were gentle hovering around. There is no greenery/flowers anywhere there. The other visitors were just as mesmerized as we were and stood in a circle around us, while we tried to take this shot…it took about 50 clicks, most of them show blue sky;0) We had them in our garden last year too but could not persuade them to stand still for just a sec;0)
      And indeed I am very happy my youngest decided to stay! The ritual was repeated many of times;0)

  3. Lovely story ! We all have one or two tucked away like that 🙂
    Your little ‘flying bear’ is a real whizzzzz !

    • A couple of weeks ago, we were on the observation deck of Carew Tower https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carew_Tower and for some reason I do not understand these huge bumble bees were gentle hovering around. There is no greenery/flowers anywhere there. The other visitors were just as mesmerized as we were and stood in a circle around us, while we tried to take this shot…it took about 50 clicks, most of them show blue sky;0) We had them in our garden last year too but could not persuade them to stand still for just a sec;0) I can give the technical details too if you are interested. xo Johanna

    • That was indeed a very feisty dog! This was Luca, a black and tan Jack Russell. She was sweet, loyal and caring but also the most stubborn dog we ever had. She had a heart condition and often during hikes she simply rested in a backpack on our back. She managed to reach the age of 14 without much trouble, we claimed because she was too stubborn to die. But of course we were very sad to have to say goodbye to her. She always chased frogs but never caught one, I hope she finally succeeded on the eternal hunting fields.

      • How we love our dog buddies, stubborn or not. And they never live long enough.

    • A couple of weeks ago, we were on the observation deck of Carew Tower https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carew_Tower and for some reason I do not understand these huge bumble bees were gentle hovering around. There is no greenery/flowers anywhere there. The other visitors were just as mesmerized as we were and stood in a circle around us, while we tried to take this shot…it took about 50 clicks, most of them show blue sky;0) We had them in our garden last year too but could not persuade them to stand still for just a sec;0) Leslie, with all your knowledge about insects, would you know why those bumble bees where so high up in the sky?

      • Interesting. It’s hard to say for sure, but I do have a few loose theories.
        1- you’re probably already aware of the recent problems with honey bee populations, Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD). Their numbers are dwindling and many reports have been made over the last few years of them acting strangely. Many just lose their way back to the hive. I’ve heard their behavior described as “drunk” and confused. The claim is that it’s due to pesticides. I agree. That said, perhaps the honey bees are experiencing similar issues.
        2- Bees love sweet scents and are sometimes attracted to sweet perfumes. Even scents like clove cigarettes.
        3- this is my husbands’ theory, who knows more about these things than I do. He says: “because it’s safe, no predators, no pesticides… ” .
        I’ll add that they may have nest up there.
        Hope this helped. A curious matter nonetheless. I let ya know if I find anything more certain on the matter.

      • Thank you so much! A lot of food for thought. They showed the same behaviour in our garden last year, where there lots of food for them bud sadly for them also lots of birds…

  4. wow, your bee photo is amazing! I’ve never seen one flying head on like a little bomber. And the story of your son and the association with the bumblebee is so sweet. What a nice memory and association.

  5. Oh wow, you were at the right place at the right time. Great bee shot. Great story about your son, I’m sure you both laugh about it now!

  6. The bumblebee photo is one in a million, Youngest Mr Walker and Charley (am I right?) pluck at my maternal heart strings, and your story brings to mind many similar Homestead happenings. And the cuddles when they smile and say they think it’s best for us that they stay – that’s what makes the world go round 🙂 xxx

    • This is not Charley as a pup. This was Luca, a black and tan Jack Russell. She was sweet, loyal and caring but also the most stubborn dog we ever had. She had a heart condition and often during hikes she simply rested in a backpack on our back. She managed to reach the age of 14 without much trouble, we claimed because she was too stubborn to die. But of course we were very sad to have to say goodbye to her. She always chased frogs but never caught one, I hope she finally succeeded on the eternal hunting fields.
      I was always very happy that my youngest decided that it was best for me to stay…the ritual was repeated many times. My goodness…he will be 21 soon! Have a great weekend, xo Johanna

  7. Lovely post Johanna! That photo is fabulous! No wonder you’re pleased. I love the story about your son. When Elinor was cross with me she used to post notes under the door saying ‘You are not my mother’.

  8. I know it’s been said, but what a wonderful picture of the bee! Actually, I am happy this summer that I am seeing bees in the garden again… There seemed to be so few of them in recent years.

    Thanks for sharing the sweet story.

  9. J, I am behind on my reading, but so glad I popped in on your blog with this charming post. I agree with Pauline: that photo is one in a million, and so are you and your darling boy. You’re the best mum. xox

  10. Beautiful, I have a 5 year old boy at the moment and though he’s never threatened to run away yet, he has a quick temper too and we have many flare-ups that usually end in cuddles just like yours did!
    Thanks for the story (and the sweet bee – we called bumblebees foggy bummers where I grew up)

  11. Is there no end to the glorious sweet life that is your own? I love your photo’s J, especially with your son and your very earnest doggy standing on the table. That’s worth a million smiles. You’re a wonderful mom to manage the situation with such tender loving care. You invested wisely for the future. As now, all grown up, they still love to spend time with mom. It’s something I’ve not enjoyed but am very happy for you. I hear in your words the constant love, nuturing and caring for your dearest and it’s wonderful. xk

  12. Back again from your link June 27, 2016. I still love your story and photo within. A pictures worth a thousand words, is it not? This is why I so love to spend time with my talented photography friends, like yourself. xo K

Leave a Reply

