RV Trip Part 3: A Hike in the Desert

DSC_8465

DSC_8371

Our RV trip brought us to Utah and we went to Dinosaur National Monument. We saw indeed lots of interesting Dinosaurs but I want to tell you about our hike in the desert there.

DSC_8518

Can you believe it…only a few days earlier, we walked through the freezing winds in the Rocky Mountain and now we were in the hot desert.

DSC_8497

I had never been in a desert before. I found it hot and harsh but at the same time I was really amazed at and impressed with all the colors, the variety of plant and wildlife, adapted so well. It was of a stunning beauty of a kind I had never seen before.

DSC_8471

DSC_8490

DSC_8451

DSC_8427

DSC_8419

DSC_8400

DSC_8398

Love and Liefs, Johanna

45 thoughts on “RV Trip Part 3: A Hike in the Desert

    • True, that’s why an RV is such a great way to do a roadtrip. I never drove, I am not much of driver , I only tottle around locally in my own little car ;0) But on every break, especially during the drives through the flat prairies, I was happy provide everyone with a nice lunch/picnic…coming form the kitchen on board.

  1. I can see why you loved this–the beauty is so austere and so very different from anything I’ve ever seen. I love the subtle colors–texture becomes much important here than in lots of scenery. Just how hot was it?

    • You describe exactly what it was like! We started very early ( 5.30 AM) and it was in the low seventies but a few hours later at the end of the hike it was in the nineties. The air is very dry that makes it more bearable and the hike was in a dried up river, so a lot was in the shade. Not too bad all and all…but I do enjoy the Fall with rain and winds right now ;0)

  2. It is harshly beautiful isn’t it? I saw the red earth and rocks when flying over and was quite amazed by the mass of it. I guess there is a lot of iron ore in the ground round them there parts. Was it very hot hiking there Johanna?

    • We started very early ( 5.30 AM) and it was in the low seventies but a few hours later at the end of the hike it was in the nineties. The air is very dry that makes it more bearable and the hike was in a dried up river, so a lot was in the shade. Not too bad all and all…but I do enjoy the Fall with rain and winds right now ;0)

  3. Impressive photos of the desert and the shroudland,Johanna!Astounding rockscapes with stunning shapes and textures under the flawless blue skies!Amazed at the different weather patterns you experienced throughout your travel!All the best to you and hugs to Charley πŸ™‚

  4. Beautiful pictures, Johanna. After living in the Phoenix, AZ area for several years, I grew to despise the desert. It had its beauty, that’s true, but it was way too dry for my taste. I also lived in northern Utah for several years. So beautiful; so very cold in the winter! But I sure wouldn’t mind visiting again one day. I told my husband that one of these days (with fewer animals around) we need to get an RV and take a long vacation! πŸ˜€

  5. I find a certain serenity can fall over you when you’re in the desert, especially at certain times of the day. I’ve always enjoyed driving through the Mojave and seeing it in the different shades, dependent on what time of the day you travel it.

    • I looked up the Mojave and indeed it looks marvelous. I wonder if you grew there? I grew up at the sea side and that is were I feel that kind of serenity. The desert was so different from any landscape I have ever seen before..almost too much to take in. I am still processing…

      • No, I grew up along the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. But, when we went into the Mojave for the first time, on a trip to Las Vegas at dusk, I was overwhelmed by the colors cast on the desert landscape. We done this drive several times since, and each time we have seen it at different times of the day…always a different perspective. But, always serene.

Leave a Reply

