Back Again And Three Quotes It Is!

Waiting for Spring002

Well…long time no posts, I’d say. Time for me to start again. Amazingly 2016 is already almost two weeks old!!! Man, I had a great time. The highlight was of course traveling to Toronto, to see the Walker Boys and we all had a great time together. Did not bring the camera this time so no new pics there. I am using some older images of snowy weather. We have some decent snow here finally.

Β 1993
Anyhue, Universe Sketcher tagged me for the Three Quote Challenge. Now I have done this before but since The Sketcher has such a marvelous blog that spreads so much artistic knowledge and inspiration in the most creative way, I was honored by his request…I am all to happy to oblige and start my blogging year with three quotes that mean a lot me and I hope will inspire you too.

1953


And now we welcome the new year. Full of things that have never been.
-Rainer Maria Rilke
I love welcoming a New Year, making plans, looking a little critical at last year and on what to improve on. My New Year resolutions will not differ much from last year’s…stay in the here and now, being kind to Mother Earth and her inhabitants, keep on developing creative skills.

DSC_2010

Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.
-Oprah Winfrey

DSC_4453
And I will have to develop some discipline. I have too many projects that are not finished..not my style!!! And I need some discipline in using my sketchbook (love it more and more…) and yes…physical excersise!! Thou shall not stay fit by hiking alone!! Swimming and rowing have been added to keep up strength and general good health. ( and I will do my best not to whine about it ;0))

DSC_9874
Everything has been done before…but not by me!
-Octaview.nl

I know, I know, I have said so many time before: but this is my absolute life’s motto, applicable to all areas of life and it gives me great joy and motivation every time I think about this!

DSC_5902


As always when I am challenged…I do not tag other bloggers but I would LOVE to see some volunteers!!

Love and Liefs, Johanna

Ps Ik was een tijd weg maar nu weer terug hoor. T hoogtepunt van mijn afwezigheid was natuurlijk t bezoek aan de Walker Boys in Toronto. Nu weer aan slag vol nieuwe plannen en goede voornemens: ik Β begroet elk Nieuw Jaar altijd met veel enthousiasme! (Ik ben wel verbaasd dat t al bijna 2 weken oud is…) Mijn voornemens zijn eigenlijk altijd t zelfde maar dit jaar voeg ik wat meer discipline en lichamelijke beweging er aan toe…en ik zal mijn best doen er niet over te mopperen;0)
Als je een interessante blog aan je lijst wil toevoegen…kijk naar eens Universe Sketcher!
DSC_9257

83 thoughts on “Back Again And Three Quotes It Is!

  1. Beautiful photos!

    I wish I could motivate myself this new year. At least I’ve started knitting again, now I have to get to the loom! And I’ve put new batteries in my camera so that, too, is a start.

    Happy New Year and thanks for a lovely blog.

  2. Glad you’re back to posting after a lovely holiday. Happy new year. I like your quotes and your plans for the new year. They seem a variation of mine! I look forward to more lovely drawings and photos and reflections and stories from you this year!

  3. Oh, what a wonderful post and what beautiful pictures. Very inspiring! So glad you’re back. And as Sharon noted above, on with a creative year. (That could be my motto!)

  4. Mom and I LOVE those uplifting, positive quotes, J., and we always look forwa d to seeing more and more of your artwork. But of course, my favorite part of the post is the gorgeous snowy-nosed Charley. xoxo

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. Wonderful “come-back” post dear Johanna!Lovely photos,quotes and sketches too!I’ve just come back and try hard to put everything in order … My inbox a real nightmare …
    Happy,Healthy and Prosperous New Year my friend πŸ™‚ Hugs to Charley >3 xxx

  6. Beautiful photos and lovely sketches. I am so pleased you have been enjoying yourself with your boys in Toronto. Great quotes! Here’s to a successful and contented year Johanna! Clare xx

  7. A wonderful way to begin the year, with sketches and photos and quotes from you. I’ve been away from home for more than a week. I almost feel like when I get home, I get to begin again! πŸ™‚ Happy New Year, Johanna. I wish you the very best.

  8. Your wonderfully thoughtful resolutions put mine to shame πŸ™‚ My motivational words for the new year are “May your choices reflect your hopes, not your fears” ~ Nelson Mandela. Charley’s snowy nose is a delight πŸ™‚ x

  9. You’re back–yay! Happy New Year and it sounds like you have all your goals firmly in place–they are fine goals, indeed. I look forward to the sketches–I wish I would do this, too– and more photos–that one of the yellow bird is spectacular! My cats were very pleased to see that you included one of their tribe in your drawing . . .

    • Indeed I keep that drawing away from Charley…she would be insulted and pouting endlessly;o) The yellow bird photo I took years ago in Canada but I love it too..it posed so nicely for me and than with those red berries, so lucky there! Thank you dear Kerry, xo Johanna

  10. Beautiful pics and lovely New Year quotes. It’s just turned cold here, so hopefully we’ll finally get some snow. Mind it will probably bring the whole country to a standstill if we do!

    • We lived in Canada for 7 years and only with the most severe blizzards, thing came to a still stand. here in Cincinnati it the same as England and The Netherlands…Apocalyps with two inches of snow ;o) But thnak you for your kind words, xo Johanna

  11. Hi Johanna,
    I’m glad you had a great end-of-the-year time, and i wish you all the best for 2016. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your wonderful sketches and pictures.
    Take care,
    pit

  12. What a wonderful post Johanna! I love the quotes, especially the last one-what a perfect reminder for anyone engaged in any kind of creative pursuit-or life pursuit for that matter!And Miss Charley looks beautiful as always!

  13. Welcome back, J. I’m glad you had a nice visit with the Walker boys and time in Toronto to play.

    I enjoyed all three quotes. I think they fit you beautifully, too. Your photos continue to stun. The one of you with Charlie continues to be one of my favorites. Happy New Year.

  14. Johanna, your photos are wonderful, and that drawing is lovely! I’m so glad to hear that you’ve welcomed in the new year with contentment.

    • Hi Polly, thank you for your kind compliments and your visit! I visited your blog and it is a delightful place…can I subscribe by email I wonder. I saw only the option of google+, cheers Johanna

  15. Such fantastic photos and artwork, as always, Johanna – and your “new years” quotes are perfectly apt!

    I hear you on the “discipline” front, especially creatively…I am sitting in piles of works in progress right now and it feels a little overwhelming. πŸ˜‰ Tackling them is my goal for the next two months…I’ve promised myself I won’t start anything new until these things get done, lol!

    Have a wonderful weekend! Do you still have snow there, or has it all melted?

    • Good luck Sheryl!! It is a hard feeling when you are overwhelmed like that but what a relief it will bring when you sorted it out…go for it!!!
      We had some lovely spring days but are covered in snow again…nice too ;0)
      have a great weekend, xo Johanna

Leave a Reply

