Winter Time…Tea Time!!

 

tea cup001Really, a bit of a nonsense title…any time , any day (or night) I can drink tea. And yes yes…hot chocolate is nice too for the winter or a good toddy, right? To keep the cold of , I mean ;o)
Anyhue, sometimes it is just plain fun to make a simple drawing of something close to ones heart..a good cuppa!
Simple things can represent so much: an old blanket that reminds you of your childhood, hot apple pie of Grandma , the smell of a home cooked breakfast brings me back to campsites when the Walker Boys were little lads…

DSC_9877
And tea!! ย It symbolizes relaxing coziness, connected to reading, knitting, lovely get to togethers. The ritual of making that cup, choosing the right tea, pot and cup. And I have indeed way too many pretty containers with the right teas for the right moments.

DSC_4956-001
This brand is very good and it is sold here in Cincinnati in the daintiest tea shop ever.

DSC_9881
But when it comes to the best tea ever: I can, as a self appointed tea connoisseur, state that this tea is the best there is. Just a strong cup with a dollop of milk…the world is perfect again from the first sip onwards. (And no, this blog is not sponsored…though I will reconsider for free amounts of Trader Joe’s Irish Breakfast Tea ;o))

tea time in winter001
Having lots of fun with this drawing, also about tea and winter and coziness.

Ach wat is er nu fijner op een koude winterse dag dan even weg te mijmeren over thee..en gewoon even zo’n gezellig kopje te tekenen en te werken aan een die wat gecompliceerder is. En aan de hoeveelheid trommeltjes kan je wel zien dat ik een heuse thee connaisseur ben ;o)

Love and Liefs, Johanna

DSC_6031

89 thoughts on “Winter Time…Tea Time!!

  1. I love a cup of tea so I enjoyed this post enormously! I like black tea (especially Assam), green tea, china tea and fruit tea – all delicious and comforting. Lovely drawings and photos especially those nice little cakes Yum!

  2. I looove tea which I collect all different kinds it is so great to have an afternoon cup while creating my art actually I can drink it any time (I also love coffee!) Your illustrations are so cute ! I just had a cup of this “Lychee with Rose” Black tea from Malaysia it taste lovely! โค

  3. Drinking tea sounds so British, and the tea cups, saucers and pots are so classy looking. But, I’m hanging my head here – I’m a coffee drinker. It sounds very brash after reading this lovely post and seeing those wonderful drawings – love the first one. So, please forgive me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahaha, no need for forgiveness, I like coffee too. And I agree that tea does sound British. My book group read Murder for Christmas by Agatha Christie in December and I hosted a tea party to accomodate that…it seemed just the proper thing to do ;o)

  4. I like a good cup of black tea too–and use English and Irish breakfast for iced tea in the summer! A few years ago, I was at a friend’s house and she was going to brew some tea and asked what I’d like. I said some nice black tea and she brewed the most amazing tea!! She said it was PG Tips and I have been brewing it ever since. Apparently it’s the only brand that doesn’t downgrade the quality of their tea for sale in the US. I’m basically a coffee drinker, but I do like a good cup of tea and your beautiful cuppa added some cheer to my day!

    • PG tips is on my list to buy and try! Iced tea is very popular here and I must admit I never got used to it. In fact, in restaurants etc I have to specify I want a hot tea other wise I will get iced tea…I gave up asking for a little milk with it ;o) And thank you for your lovely compliments!!!

      • Iced tea is best brewed at home; you can’t be sure whether it’s instant or heavily sweetened in a restaurant. It also needs to be quite strong as you pour it over ice. I put a couple teaspoons of honey into a 10 cup pot to take the tannic edge off, then let it cool. You simply might not like it iced. It’s most refreshing when you’re hot–just out of the garden! But hot or cold, do try the PG Tips!

  5. Beautiful drawings (particularly love the chair!) I drink mainly coffee but when I see lovely pictures of tea or watch English shows where they’re drinking it, I get tea cravings, as I have now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Here on the Homestead we like to mix it up a bit: green tea first and last thing everyday, coffee morning and afternoon tea and tea at lunchtime ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re very well rounded, you know ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the cuppa drawing and look forward to seeing where these drawings take you. Love to you and yours from all of us xxx

  7. I’m not much of a tea drinker so I amused myself here by checking out your fab tableware–I LOVE that atomic creamer! And, of course, your drawings are so warm and full of fun!

  8. Love, love, love this post! To me, tea is the thing. Also what a wonderful drawing of a tea cup. I’ve never had Trader’s Irish breakfast. The next time I go, I will buy some.

  9. Mmmm… Die cakejes zien er echt lekker uit! En thee is wel zo lekker op koude winter dagen. In Nederland was het eergisteren -6 ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Ik hou zo van thee dat ik een artikel over green tea Oreo koekjes heb geplaatst. Nou okรฉ, ik hou meer van Oreo’s! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Xx The cute bunnie

      • Ja, ze zijn ook in Nederland te krijgen! ๐Ÿ™‚
        Maar in de gewone supermarkten alleen maar de originele. Is er ook Oreo ijs?! Cool! In Nederland heb je wel Oreo chocola, dat is nieuw van Milka ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. It’s really interesting how many of my friends love tea, love making tea and love all the tea accoutrement too. Your art is always so whimsical for me. I half expect a fluffy, sleepy eyed bear to awake from his long winter nap upon his giant daisy patterned pillow to drink a sup of your fragrant tea. Why else would one interrupt a cozy winter hibernation? Maybe he’d be wearing one of those cute knitted winter hats with ears and tassels? Yep probably, I think that would do nicely. xo K

  11. Such a comforting post, Johanna. That first drawing made me smile with contentment.
    And I’m not even a hot tea drinker (although this post makes me want to be).
    I should know this, but do you sell your work?

    • Thank you Laurie, I am happy to have made you smile and feel comforted.
      I do sell my work, both original work and prints. I have had several requests to start an online shop and I should look into that. (My pace of life is very slow ;o)) If you have questions then feel free to email me at colorpencil.2014@gmail.com
      Wishing you a lovely day, Johanna

    • Een verzameling theepotten?/ Dat klinkt erg knus. Ik heb er wel een paar, de theepot moet bij de stemming van de dag passen toch? Erg gezellig, Greetje, zo’n Nederlands bezoekje! En bedankt voor de follow en t leuke compliment op mijn werk. Groetjes uit Ohio, Johanna

  12. I would say the only thing missing from your delightful images and drawings is a dog waiting to share the treats ๐Ÿ˜‰ Jack Henry and I often sit while I have my afternoon cup-depending on the flavor, he is either very interested or not-

Leave a Reply

