More Tea, and a Sketch… Boomdee Inspired

tea time in winter005

Finished this tea themed drawing.
The Youngest Walker Boy advised me on the right background colors.

tea time in winter004
However the Oldest Walker thought that no background color at all was better.
Oh well, with modern technology nowadays, we can have both.
What do you think?

tea and bear001

And then Boomdee aka Kelly from Boomdeeadda.com left me this comment which shows her creative and original spirit in optima forma:
“Your art is always so whimsical for me. I half expect a fluffy, sleepy eyed bear to awake from his long winter nap upon his giant daisy patterned pillow to drink a sup of your fragrant tea. Why else would one interrupt a cozy winter hibernation? Maybe he’d be wearing one of those cute knitted winter hats with ears and tassels? Yep probably, I think that would do nicely. xo K”

She also send this fantastic card all the from Hawaii….thank you my dear, you are an utter sweetheart!!!

DSC_9899
De tekening met t thee thema is klaar, de Walker Boys verschilden van mening of er wel of niet achtergrond kleuren moesten worden gebruikt…wat denk jij? En  Kelly stuurde een leuke kaart uit  Hawaï en deze originele en creative blogvriendin denkt altijd aan beren in de winterslaap wanneer er een kopje thee voorbij komt…och hemel..

Have a Great Weekend Y’all,

Love and Liefs, Johanna

74 thoughts on “More Tea, and a Sketch… Boomdee Inspired

  1. Yes, it’s a very 50’s inspired living room Johanna – so this is bound to be a Boomdee favourite too I ‘m thinking! Love the Bear drawn to order 🙂 Re your question – my eye personally appreciates the addition of a little blue in the decor 🙂

    • I do not believe you…you are to pretty and dainty to look like a big bear Genevieve!! But I do love a cup of tea in bed. My wish is to find a fifties alarm clock attached to a teamaker!!
      Hugs for Cupcake too!

  2. I love your mid-century modern furniture and the tulips on the window sill and the crafts and the little pie…I like the blue wall and carpet as well, the white, not as much, but perhaps if I had not been presented with both, it wouldn’t matter! As for your bear, if you put Boomdee’s glasses on it…it would be a cute bear Boomdee. I like the portrait by the bed as well. Glad you’re back and drawing away for us.

  3. I have repeatedly scrolled up and scrolled down and I can’t decide which looks better. They’re both lovely illustrations.

  4. This is adorable Johanna. I really like both the blue background and the plain white.
    What a sweet thing your blogger friend did for you. That’s so sweet. Does she live in Hawaii or just visiting?
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    🙂

  5. Johanna, to me it looks like an early 60’s living room. We had a clock like that and the other furniture is in the image we all had of what we thought the future might be like. For some reason whenever I see furniture like that I always think of The Jetsons. Oh, and I like the first sketch background. :O)

    • Thanks Paul! And yes, I love the fifties/ sixties look from America. Actually my house is decorated in this style and I am always hunting for more lovely objects to perfect this. I grew up in The Netherlands and even then I poured over the magazines photos from ‘Cool America”…never thought I would indeed live there on day and have such nice furniture in my house ;o) Kindred spirits when it comes to the Jetsons…I am still waiting for a Rosie to add to my house!!

  6. I like the sketch without the colored background 😉 Somehow, I found the colors on the wall distracting. But, colors on the wall or not, any picture of yours brightens my day.

  7. !! ❤ Oh Gasp! What a delightful surprise Johanna! Thank you so much for your time and art! LOL, I'm giddy. I can't stop looking at him. Awwww, and the family portrait on the wall makes me laugh and cheer. If you could see me now, you'd see the biggest, goofiest grin on my face. LOOK at my sleepy bear with his tea! OMGosh, A-dorable and perfectly imagined, only better. It's so magical to be able to see him come to life. I also see his tasselled hat on the bed post there too, ha! You're wonderful, lovely, caring heart has touch mine once again. ❤

    Now, if I could, I would transplant all the furniture from your first work into my undressed 'library to be'. I'm hoping for a bit of a contemporary vibe and I really must find a starburst clock too. I'm drinking up all the cozy detail, like the knitting in a bowl and the bird feeders out the window, it's all charming. Very happy to see your post card arrived, it's a wee tradition when I'm lucky enough to travel. So lucky…..lucky, lucky me xox k

    • Nonono, you should not thank me…you inspired me with your wonderful musings!! And yes, I love the fifties/ sixties look from America. Actually my house is decorated in this style and I am always hunting for more lovely objects to perfect this. I grew up in The Netherlands and even then I poured over the magazines photos from ‘Cool America”…never thought I would indeed live there on day and have such nice furniture in my house ;o) Still have the convince Mr. Walker that the starburst clock is the only thing missing in our dining room. xo Johanna

  8. Why I so much agree with the Youngest Walker Boy ?Fascinating drawings,the bear though is so sweet even with no colours.It’s a lovable polar bear,dear Johanna!Hugs to Charley 🙂 xxx

  9. Oh how fun! There’s just so much to look at in your sketches, Johanna. They are just wonderful. I love that the tasseled hat is hung on the bedpost, and the swirls of steam rising from his cup are so comforting. The bird feeders outside the window, the knitting, the teapot.
    Contentment in a sketch!
    If I were forced to choose, I’d go with the blue walls, but truly, both are wonderful.

  10. I can’t decide between the two pictures – they both look like the sort of place I could quite happily while away some hours. Love the clock – definite echoes of my childhood 🙂 Love to you xxx

  11. SO amazing! Your drawings do have so much to look at and enjoy–the details make them completely appealing! That bear looks so cozy, I’m tempted to go back to bed with a cup of something warm.

  12. Aw, what a sweet post! I agree your mid century modern furniture is so lovely but so is your drawings with and without a background! And your dear bear! Aloha indeed! Super wonderful and delightfully yummy!

    • Thnak you dear Cathe, such a lovely comment!!!And yes, I love the fifties/ sixties look from America. Actually my house is decorated in this style and I am always hunting for more lovely objects to perfect this. I grew up in The Netherlands and even then I poured over the magazines photos from ‘Cool America”…never thought I would indeed live there on day and have such nice furniture in my house ;o)

Leave a Reply

