Lately: Cozy Wintertime and a Give Away

DSC_9916

No wonder, Kelly’s image of a tea drinking bear appeals to me. Winter times are so wonderful to be indoors and enjoy the coziness of the house. And I really love this ‘new-to-me tea light .

DSC_9942

I am also very very happy with my new-to-me lamps. I was searching for these for so long already and I wanted them so badly. They make me very happy! I scored them for a good prize (of course) at a local flea market. The shades were appalling beige and nicotine stained so they did not even enter the house. And Mr. Walker, the handyman, rewired them…safety first!

DSC_9932

IKEA had the right shades of course. My Wonderful American Friends made me smile when they were somewhat puzzled at my happy yodeling and responded with a shrug and a “Yeah that’s stuff we grew up with.” Maybe they like them better with the new shades ;O)

DSC_9934

DSC_9888

I am faithfully working in my Sketchbook and loving it very much.

DSC_9884

DSC_9959

And how I enjoy knitting more preemie hats for the hospital and I am trying to finish this never ending shawl too. Β 

DSC_9945
Reading about Arthur Rackham and drifting of to the Lands of Magic and Fairytales whilst doing so.


Read this intriguing book on knitting and art.

DSC_9890
Of course, Charley and I have our invigorating daily walks…but she also thinks it very cozy to have an excellent nap in the sunshine.

DSC_9924
Baking these Cottage Cheese Pancakes is a delight, the smell is wonderful and the taste is even better. This is such a super no fail recipe: good for breakfast but also tasty cold, in the lunchbox and picnic basket.
* so you mix 1 cup of gluten free all purpose flour ( Bob’s Red Mill is the best), 4 tablespoons of almond flour, 1 tablespoon of baking powder, a little salt and three eggs with 1 1/2 cup of fat free cottage cheese. Dilute with (almond) milk until batter is still firm but smooth.
Bake for about 3 minutes on one side ( or when you see those nice dimples) and then 2 minutes on the other in a medium hot frying pan.

DSC_9948
This is also a good time to inspect all closets and cupboards for clutter and obsolete items…I do not like a cluttered house overflowing with ‘stuff’. To my surprise I found these two embroidered pillowcases and little table cloth. They are handmade and vintage and I used to have a whole pile of them. I thought I donated all of them back to the wonderful world of re-use and make somebody else very happy, when we moved from a country house in Canada to this sleek house in the suburb of Cincinnati. But these were hiding in a pile of fabric! I know there are blog friends who like this as well and I wonder if any one you would like to have them. There is a little rust stain in the little table cloth but for anything else they are clean and nice and well made. Just let me know, where ever you are in the world…I will do the pillow cases together and little table cloth separately. If there are more than two enthusiasts I will do a raffle.You can sign up until next Wednesday.

DSC_9949

Het is heerlijk knus winterweer en hoewel we elke dag wandelen, is het binnen wel erg behaaglijk met thee, pannenkoekjes, breien en boeken en dutjes in de zon. Ook ben ik mijn jaarlijkse inspectie van kasten enzo aan t doen om overbodige spulletjes op te sporen. ( ik hou echt niet van teveel spul in huis) Zo vond ik deze vintage kussenslopen en tafelkleedje. Ik had heel veel van dit soort spulletjes in ons huis in Canada op t platteland. Maar ik had ze ‘doorgegeven’ toen we naar onze hippe stadswoning in Cincinnati verhuisden. Deze zaten verborgen in een stapel textielgoed. Wil jij de slopen of t kleedje graag hebben, dan laat t me maar weten. Zijn er teveel gegadigden dan zal ik ze eerlijk verloten. Je kan tot volgende week woensdag mee doen.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

60 thoughts on “Lately: Cozy Wintertime and a Give Away

  1. It is a real treat to enter your stylish, yet thriftily achieved world Johanna. The lamps are stunning. And the books….I LOVE Arthur Rackham’s work. I so wish that I could become better at getting rid of clutter. I find it so hard to part with anything and dare not go any where near a flea market or car boot sale as I always see something which needs rescuing, cleaning and valuing and yet I really can not fit anything in my house! πŸ™‚

  2. What a lovely post. I wish we had flea markets here. I would frequent them often. I love a good deal.
    Those pancakes looks phenomenal. I must make them soon, and thanks for the recipe.
    You make knitted hats for premies? That is so sweet. And so are they.
    πŸ™‚

    • I am a member of a group of knitters, quilters and sewers who create items for the Children’s hospital here in Cincinnati. It is va very satisfying thing to do and I meet great women too. And yes…I am very happy with those lamps ;o)

    • Charley has several nice blankets and claims beds and couches…wherever the sunny spots are ;0) And thank you about the hats, I try to make something special and uniques out of everyone, to give a little smile in times of sorrow.

  3. Charley looks to be doing yoga in the sun. I could lie down next to her. Your pancake recipe!!! Yum, I have written it down and may make it soon. I love your chicken sketches and your preemie hats–especially the one with the turquoise finial. You have done wonders with the lamps, very late sixties, they are–is that mid century modern???? You have an eye for the style, but as an artist, what could we expect?

  4. Everything looks so warm and welcoming. πŸ™‚ The embroidered vintage items are gorgeous but I can’t ask for them because I have just inherited similar items from my aunt. I am awash with ‘vintage’ at the moment. It’s lovely but I also don’t want to return to a cluttered life.

  5. One word for you blog today: cosy πŸ™‚
    I love the little tealight – so simple and stylish – nothing beats a good “find”. It looks like you have plenty of little tasks on the go to keep you out of mischief. Love to you and yours from all of us xxx

      • Every season has its benefits and being cosy is definitely the great thing about winter. Here we are right at the “overblown” bit of summer where everything looks very untidy and tired-a bit like me at the moment πŸ™‚ Love to you for a cosy weekend xxx

  6. A bright, lovely post on a gray snowy day. You have such a sense of style. And those pancakes look delectable. Love the pillow cases, but as I won the last contest, I will abstain from this one πŸ˜‰

  7. I have a drawer full of inherited vintage linen that I can’t get rid of because they are from my husband’s family so I’d better not have any more πŸ˜‰ I love Arthur Rackham’s artwork too and I must make those pancakes very soon. In fact it is Pancake Day on Tuesday – how lucky!

  8. Love the lamps, love the embroidery, love the chickens – won’t mention the pancakes, as I’m dieting. And then there is a cup of tea in the header. I want come live at your house xx

  9. As usual, I don’t know where to start in commenting on this post–so full of fun stuff! But the lamps blow me away! That look is SO mid-century and groovy! You really have a wonderful eye for detail that’s apparent in your photos, your home, your sketchbook–even your cooking!

  10. What a lovely post, Johanna. Love the lamps, the knitted caps for preemies, the tea light, the books, the vintage linen, and I bet the pancakes are great. Charley looks very relaxed.

  11. Good Morning, Good Morning, we’ve danced the whole night through, good morning, good morning to you. LOL πŸ˜€ Hello Charley and Johanna. I was at an art class last night, mixed media, and feeling so lively this morning.
    I actually had a lovely visit here yesterday and was sure I left a message but I guess I dreamt it or fell asleep before I hit enter, ha!
    I remember being smitten with your syrup server and telling you have dear your preemie hats are. I picked the yellow one as my favourite. I know! Surprising!
    Years and years ago, I worked at Birks (Canada’s Tiffany’s) where we sold Blue Onion. I was only 25 or so, but I remember thinking how pretty it was but I couldn’t afford a set. I ended up buying a set of Royal Duolton Lambethware that was marked down by half. My dad helped me buy all the serving pieces. I still love it and we use it everyday, this is it.

    I especially love to eat breakfast food and often make Frenched Bread or Lemon Ricotta Pancakes for dinner. I’ve never used gluten free items in the kitchen. Is this something you always use? The hotcakes sounds yummy.

    The shade you’ve added to your ‘new-to-me’ lamp is perfect. I also really like your saying, ‘new-to-me’. It reminds me of the Mad Hatters chapeau in Alice In Wonderland. I’m not sure if you’ve heard of a store called ‘West Elm’. They have a store in Toronto πŸ˜‰ . You might like their style too.

    Gee, such a fantastic way to end or start my day, a visit with you. Enjoy! We seem to be having very spring like weather this week. I’m happy to shed my winter jacket and boots. xo K

    • How sweet, buying a dinner service with your dad, love your pattern too. My blue onion is all thrifted and not from the same company either but I do not care…I love the pattern.
      I hope you will show your mixed media art project on your blog!!!
      I am interested in your lemon ricotta pancakes. And yes, I do have to use gluten free food. I have a severe form of celiac disease, all my life already. I do not mind, I only have to pay attention to what I eat to stay healthy and I like cooking. And since 5 years life has become so much easier with all the gluten free products widely available!! What a blessing not to have to mix my own flours anymore…Bob”s Red MIll for president I’d say!
      And thanks for the link to West Elm!
      Better run along now, I meeting up with friends, just a couple more weeks and we are going on a knitting retreat!!! I will send posr card, my dear!! xo From Charley too

  12. I love Arthur Rackham’s work too! What delightful way to pass some time-and the picture of Charley is priceless-Jack Henry wishes he lived closer to you so he could come visit at tea time and help you with those pancakes! πŸ™‚

  13. What a pity I didn’t come earlier to enjoy this rich and fabulous post,dear Johanna!Wonderful lamps,lovely drawings and so much warmth in your place!The pancakes are really tempting and the table cloths so finely and elegantly made!Lady Charley seems to enjoy the cozyness of the home more than anybody else!Have a nice & peaceful Tuesday ~ Hugs to the Princess πŸ™‚ xxx

  14. Another fantastic post, Johanna! I just love all of your finds. I must say those lamps brought back some stored memories. Charley is, of course, as adorable as ever! Your preemie caps are such a wonderful way to help others. You know, I have some of those embroidered pillowcases that my mother did back in the 50s! Glad all is well!

Leave a Reply

