Lately: Colds, Colors and Comfort

DSC_0024

February can already give those little glimpses of Spring on the occasional warmer, sunny days here in Southern Ohio. Or not…

DSC_0014
Even Mr. And Mrs. Squirrel prefer staying indoors. Actually quite cosy, the two darlings in the owl box where they made a warm nest of leaves and moss and the likes.

DSC_0103-001
And so a few of my Wonderful Friends and I decided to go to a Knitting Retreat , perfect for February (more about that later)

DSC_0092
It was marvelous…but alas, we all came back with a nasty flu. (Another bird, not really sharp but quite funny.)

DSC_9992
My flu virus had even worse manners and invited bacteria that lead to a lung infection and ruthless, ever so much inelegant coughing.

DSC_0064

I am incredibly bored because the only thing I like to do now, is play with my camera and sleep.

DSC_0022
Apparently, I even rather take photos of my meals then eat them.

DSC_9972

Thanks goodness, there lots of color at least on my plate.

DSC_9995

And in the flower vases.

DSC_0116-001
Yeah….incredibly bored…not that you will hear me whine about it ….

Ik ben herstellende van een zwarte griep en verveel me een beetje…

Love and Liefs,
Johanna

93 thoughts on “Lately: Colds, Colors and Comfort

  1. You may be bored but I do love how you put it to work for you! I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been so sick. I sure hope you’re on the mend now. You know, if I had a magic wand, my friend, I’d use it to make you all better. Hugs and well wishes! ❣😷 😽

  2. I came back from my Florida trip with a cold–why does that always seem to happen?! You’re doing some wonderful photography work in spite of being sick–I don’t get photos nearly that good when I’m perfectly healthy! I really love the squirrel in the bird house and the Charley paws . . . Feel better soon, my friend!

  3. Dear Johanna – I too have had a nasty cold and cough. I’m on the tail end but I sympathize 😍. Your photography imagery always tells a story. Every picture is so warm and inviting. Take care and get well soon.

  4. Three Big Cs that changed your life and a wonderful post,dear Johanna!Loved your photos and especially the little squatters who had your blessings.But most of all loved Princess’ feet and her black dewclaw.Enjoy a peaceful weekend ~ hugs to you Ladies,J & C πŸ™‚ xxx

    • I see where you coming form, but my pace of life is already very slow and that is a blessing indeed. I should not whine about a cold and cough…but sometimes one just wants to be a pouty princess for a day ;o)

  5. Be well soon! In December, I had a similar cold/flu, and I coughed so much that at one point I thought I had broken a rib. Turned out to be just a pulled muscle, but no fun. Love, love, love the pictures, especially the one with the squirrel peeking out the hole and the one with the mugs. Your design? I swear that even when you are sick, you have more creativity in your little finger than most people do in their whole bodies.

  6. I hope you’re over the worst of it and getting better, Johanna: all my best wishes. Your food looks great. Very enticing. Maybe I need to come over and help you eat it. πŸ˜‰
    Take care, have a great weekend, and speedy recovery,
    Pit

  7. Sorry about the flu Johanna – hope you’re back to normal soon! We’re ready for spring over here too, but it’s *so* cold…..

  8. Mom also suffered a cough like a kennel full of sick dogs these past few weeks. After 3 trips to the doctor, an x-ray, and a CAT scan of her lungs, she is happily on the road to recovery, but sick to death of soup soup soup and cough drops. Ugh. What’s in those fritter things? Oh boy do they look crispy, delicious, and un-soup-like! YUM!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • I am so sorry to hear mom was sick too!!! The fritters are sweet potato hash brown with quinoa. it is very tasty indeed: just grated sweet potato, mixed with cooked quinoa, 1 egg and some sour cream and seasoning like green herbs. Fry nicely 5 minutes on each side…warm, cold,jummy! good for flawed appetites and little Jack Russells.

  9. Aw, no fun being sick but I sure agree with everyone Johanna, your photography, meals, beautiful unique dishware is so joyful! Oh and Miss Twinkle Toes, adorable! I hope you are on the mend and soon feel wonderful!

  10. Hi Johanna, so sorry to hear you have been sick, though good to see you manage to keep your creative eyes open between naps. Your musings made me smile. πŸ™‚ I loved the pictures so much – the cute squirrel peeking from the hole, and the bird peeking from behind the tree! You take care of yourself and get well soon. Xo

  11. I love the first photo Johanna – doesn’t snow land in fascinating ways. It looks to me that you aren’t really sick at all – just wanting to lie around coughing [elegantly by now I’m sure] and taking photos …… and being offered tasty treats πŸ™‚ I hope spring is not too far away now, there are signs of autumn here with the first leaves yellowing and falling.

      • Well I hope you are feeling so much better now and any lying around and playing with the camera is done just for pleasure. Thank you, the hair is about to change again in another couple of days ……. πŸ™‚

  12. Hope you feel full strength soon! If you are eating all that delicious looking food, wellness is on its way. Goodness what gorgeous pictures. Boomdee will like the squirrel interloper (and so do I). I also love Charley’s paws and the little bird. Your snow picture is also stunning. Sending good wishes for health.

  13. Cough it all out, Johanna…are you adding to the boring soup regimen plenty of warm water with lemon and honey to drink throughout the day? That could help to shift it soon. But I like how your boredom manifests itself…the top pic is my fave! Cheerio! πŸ™‚

  14. Sending you a huge dollop of get well wishes (and a little sunshine, too) from all of us at the Homestead. Being ill is such a bore – but my sickbed meals never look THAT good…you’ve made me hungry πŸ™‚ Love to you xxx

  15. Oh Johanna, my thoughts are with you! Hoping that you are beginning to feel better and not so bored. After my wreck, I was in the bed for weeks and remember taking photos of anything and everything.
    Sending healing thoughts!

  16. Sorry to hear about the nasty flu. Are we all just getting older and weaker, or is it a particularly bad one this year? My friends who have had it in the last month can’t believe how bad it’s been.

  17. Johanna, I hope you are feeling better. There are nasty germs going around. I love your photo of the squirrels and of course, Charlie ‘ s paws. Take care of yourself. Joanna

  18. It is selfish of me to say this, but your misfortune has produced some lovely photos for all your blogging fans to share and enjoy. I am so sorry though to hear about the chest infection. I do so know how debilitating a lung infection can be and it will take time to recover properly. The Squirrel picture is so sweet and I am sure you had a great knitting retreat, but what a shame you came back sick. Rest up Johanna. Hope you feel better soon x x x

  19. I hope you are feeling better soon Johanna, but I will say that your illness made some wonderful images–amazing what we can see when our space is limited so to speak–I especially liked the picture of Miss Charley’s paws (I am sure she is a wonderful caretaker) and the bird and squirrel pictures are delightful and I covet your mid-century tea set there on the table–what a wonderful set-get well soon from all of us at Little Dogs Laughed! πŸ™‚

  20. You sound miserable, Johanna. I’m sorry to hear of the long convalescence, time indoors, unappealing food (no taste buds), etc. I hope your appetite returns and that you are feeling more like yourself again.

  21. Hi-ho Johanna and sweat Charley. I see by the date on your post that I’m again in catch up mode. I was so happy to receive your card this week. Beautiful and cheery. Thank you tons. I was sorry to hear that you came home so ill. That’s a real bummer, because you were so looking forward to this retreat. I see our sleepy bear behind the coffee mugs on the shelf and smiled. What a talent you are to take a mere rambling of thoughts and turn it into a lovely whimsical piece of art. Adorable! All your photo’s are a treat, but especially the squirrel peaking out of the little shelter, the birdie hugging close to the feeder and Charley girl, oh sweet girl xo K

Leave a Reply

