New York Part 4

DSC_0605

And of course there were the museums! We made a list of museums we wanted to visit and tried to prioritize…have to go back to New York!

DSC_0611
Guggenheim is a beautiful building. To my disappointment the Kandinsky floor was closed to the public. The rest of the museum was dedicated to an exhibition by two very silly Switzers ..we will say no more about it.

DSC_0744-2
But yes the Metropolitan is the BEST museum in the world!!! I could go there every week! The building is beautiful, the collection breath taking. We planned our must see floors ahead and enjoyed Chagall, Kandinsky, Calder, Miro and many more!! And very clever , the museum has set out a walk for one-day-visitors so you can have an impression of the collection without going crazy.

DSC_0787-2

DSC_0783-2

DSC_0498-2

And at the American Museum of Natural History, a lifelong wish of mine came to happen in seeing the MOST beautiful dioramas in the world. Those of you who follow my blog a little longer know of my passion for dioramas.

DSC_0493-2

DSC_0496-2These can be over a 100 year old and come from an era without TV, Film, color photos and traveling was a thing for the happy few. The marvel and wonders they must have caused. Mr. Walker does not share my passion but he admitted that it was pretty amazing.

DSC_0522-003

DSC_0529

DSC_0518-2

I was so happy.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

 

42 thoughts on “New York Part 4

  1. I always become totally overwhelmed by museums…there’s so much to see and time is always limited. What a brilliant idea to have a “taster tour” for one day visitors. I can see that you were indeed very happy – looking at goats makes me smile like that too πŸ™‚

    • I wish more museums would do this indeed. But I thought me that it is perfectly all right, even better to just take a nice stroll and stop from time to time instead of try to do it all and get crazy! Ah yes, those goats , they were super ;o)

  2. Magnificent museum photos dear Johanna.Yes,I do remember you like dioramas;superb your photos in here,I especially like the very last one!Your first spiral stair image is really stunning,astonishing downwards perspective!Have a nice day,kisses to Charley πŸ™‚

  3. This is the best thing about New York–all those museums (and more!), all close to each other, all ready to dazzle. Your list at the Met (Chagall, Kandinsky, Calder, Miro ) would work very well for me, too! You’ve gotten me thinking about planning the next trip . . . I’m glad you had such fun, Johanna!

  4. You look happy, too! Inside and out. The dioramas are spectacular, and so is the architecture. I really had the feeling of going inside the museums with you. Glad your trip was so fulfilling for you and Mr. Walker!

  5. So heartening to read the other comments about how much people love New York. It is, indeed, a magnificent city with a pulse all its own. Those dioramas are wonderful, and, yes, you look very happy.

  6. What amazing museums. I love that circular case in the Guggenheim. Can’t count how many movies have been filed there! The first, and so far the only, Natural History Museum I’ve been able to visit is the one right there in Cincinnati. Granted, it was back in the mid-70s, but it was awesome then. I was so very taken with it. I would love to see it again. Can’t imagine what the one in NY would be like in person! No wonder you have such a big beautiful smile on! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Johanna, thank you for sharing these inspiring pictures. I was not aware of your passion for dioramas, so I checked out your link. I am so impressed with your home-made dioramas and actually have a new-found appreciation for them. You look so happy in that last picture, and I can understand why. Too bad about the Kandinsky floor being closed (I would love to see his work in person some day), but it sounds like you had plenty of wonderful experiences to make up for it. Wonderful post. Take care! Xo

  8. You look so happy in that last photo! πŸ™‚ I love the idea of a planned walk for one-day visitors. I wish all museums did this as I get so tired and then my poor little brain stops working. Your first photo is fantastic!

  9. It looks like you had an amazing time in New York. Thank you for posting. One day I will travel there.

  10. You packed a lot into your New York trip. Dioramas! I agree that they evoke another time entirely. When the passion for science and exploration was burgeoning in the nineteenth and early twentieth century, dioramas shared a vast new world of knowledge with people who would never otherwise have any exposure to such things. Aaahh. We live in a different world now.

  11. Looks like the two of you experienced New York to its fullest. Your photos of the Guggenheim are amazing.

  12. I love the dioramas – they are incredible! My daughters used to make them for school projects – not like these ones of course! Have enjoyed your New York photo series – you take some lovely photos and unusual angles πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

