Sketch Journal Project

 

07-19-2016002

Summer is in full blast here and I would not mind spending my entire days in water, cold water that is. How happy I am to have picked swimming again last Fall!!

It reminds me too of my youth in The Netherlands and growing up in a little village there…summer was almost literally spent in the water at the local outdoor pool which was the centre of the universe all summer vacation! And outings were often to lakes or seasides: more swimming!
This drawing also reminds me of those beautiful informative posters hanging in our class rooms with fetching titles like: “What lives in this pond” or ” What swims in the North Sea”. Usually those posters got more attention from me than the teachers…

07-19-2016001
Some studies of swimming people.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

47 thoughts on “Sketch Journal Project

  1. I love your sketches. 🙂 I learned to swim in a brook in the mountains. As kids, we moved rocks from where the water flowed down the mountain and piled them up on the other side to try and make the water pool deeper. It worked pretty well, and that was where I learned to swim. 🙂

    • The Netherlands is the country of canals everywhere, swimming was mandatory at school in my time…before school on your bike to the outdoor pool…really cold! My sons learned to swim before they were 6 years. Your childhood memory sounds so idyllic! And I ma happy you love my work!

  2. Your sketches made me want to begin figure drawing all over again. When we were taught to draw figures it was by using a live model in class and measuring with arms out stretched and a pencil in our hands. It seems to me that you are using cones and circles to draw this well. What is this process or method called? I want to learn to draw in that way.
    Ginene

    • I do not know how this method is called. I learned to draw like that from the start, find the shapes in real and negative spaces and start sketching there. There a lots of online lessons , also on youtube. If you google around, I think you will lots you like! With your eye for beauty, I would love to see work by you!

  3. Beautiful sketches! I also grew up swimming in the local pool – we had a season pass and we were there in the morning for swim lessons and the afternoons (free babysitting for my mom). So fun! Still love the water, but now it’s mostly on a kayak.

    • The Netherlands is the country of canals everywhere, swimming was mandatory at school in my time…before school on your bike to the outdoor pool…really cold! And yes, I think my mom was very happy with the pool too ;o) My sons learned to swim before they were 6 years. I used to canoe and loved it. And I am happy you love my work!

  4. Love the smiley fish at the bottom (not the blue one, the other one). Aahh, yes, hot summer days and swimming…it’s been many years…I was never able to learn to dive properly…always ended up doing the belly-whack…ouch!! But I had fun trying. Enjoy your swiming, Jo. 🙂

    • ouch, belly wack!!! That little fish is intriguing. I love that shape but when I try to draw it larger, I cannot get ‘right’ . I will keep playing with it, I wan tto use for a collage.

  5. Delightful Johanna-absolutely delightful! Like you, many of my summers growing up were spent around water-many family vacations were spent at the lake or the river and then there was the neighborhood pool. Your drawing with its fanciful fish and sea creatures brought back a lot of happy memories. And I can think of two dogs who would love to be in that fishing boat–“helping”–of course! 🙂

    • Your dogs like the water? Only on very hot days will Charley walk in a river. I used to have a Jack Russell terrier Brit, she loved the water so much, both swimming and canoeing that I had a real life jacket for her. She also hiked in the mountains with me and was my colleague when I worked as a child therapist. And after her retirement she ‘adopted’ and raised Charley as a puppy. She was 18 when she passed away…Charley cried and searched for her for weeks. Sigh…they stay in your soul right? xoxox

  6. So lovely post again, Johann! Full of summer and nostalgia. 🙂
    I know how unbelievable it may seem, because Estonia is so near to the sea and I’ve spent my last five summers in little island, but I can’t swim! :/ :/ And yet, I so love water.

      • Oh Hanna, not able to swim!! The Netherlands is the country of canals everywhere, swimming was mandatory at school in my time…before school on your bike to the outdoor pool…really cold! Dear hanna, learn to swim, it’s so dangered not to and if you love water, it will make you very happy! And I am happy you love my work!

  7. What happy fish you have there and they don’t seem to mind someone swimming in their pond. Funny how this had an almost Asian feel to me. Maybe it’s the man in his boat and the lily pads.

  8. This is just a page in your sketchbook. I love it. If I was a child looking at this, I wouldn’t leave the page–all the under water activity–enticing. I wish I learned about the creatures in the North Sea.

  9. I found out way too late in life, but not too late thankfully, that I adore water! I cannot pass a puddle, stream, rainfull, river, lake, or ocean without getting into it 🙂
    Your sketches bring a smile to my face every time I see them

Leave a Reply

