Sketch Journal Project: Cicadas

psj 10-08-2016001

It is fascinating how nature changes when summer/the season progresses. The swallows are gathering in groups, lots of birds are molding , the fireflies have gone again. Now the cicadas and crickets have started their chorus in full blast. Especially when the sun sets, the noise is impressive…those ‘love birds’ have lots of competition!

IMG_1439
I read up on cicadas on this website and learned so much. But still was not able to determine what kind of cicada this is. Well there are 3390 different ones to choose from!

This is what’s left after the cicada changes from nymph to ‘real cicada’, an imago. If you look carefully you can see a neat cut, where he crawled out.

IMG_1440
From a distance they look rather grayish and unassuming…up close it is Star Wars meet Aliens! Β And they have amazing legs..you can hang anywhere on any material ;o)

IMG_1438
We gaan duidelijke de laatste fase van de zomer in: de zwaluwen verzamelen zich, andere vogels zijn in de rui, de vuurvliegjes zijn weer weg. En nu is t de beurt aan cicaden en krekels…man, vooral als de zon ondergaat is t me een lawaai, allemaal voor de liefde (en de volgende generatie;o)) Cicaden zijn fascinerende beestjes, ze leven ondergronds voor 2 tot wel 17 jaar en dan is feesten en flirten en…doodgaan. Deze website verteld veel meer nog.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

Ps and to be clear, this cicada was already dead. Life is fast, flirty and short for cicadas…

49 thoughts on “Sketch Journal Project: Cicadas

  1. So you have those noisemakers, too, Johanna! You’re right: they beginning to go at full blast. But still, that’s a natural sound I like – so much more than cars roaring by.
    Have agreat day,
    Pit

  2. I love this! What a charming and educational illustration. Somehow, even though I knew they lived underground, I never visualized it the way you did! I think they’re lovely. The 17 year cycle ones have red eyes!

  3. I love to hear cicadas when we are on holiday. We don’t get them here – only grasshoppers and crickets. Beautiful sketches and lots of information. What a wonderful nature book for children you’d write!

  4. Even though it’s a bug (shudder), your sketch of this little creature is great and I love how you’ve depicted it within context of the tree. 😊

  5. I don’t think we have cicadas–I wonder why . . . This is a new direction for you and I like it! And I like the idea that, if a life is to be short, it at least can be fast and flirty!

  6. Nothing says summer as loudly or definitely as a cicada…I adore the sound but don’t enjoy discovering them folded in my clothes or bedsheets. Here theyhave a nasty habitof dozing off on the washing hanging on the line and if I’m not totally with it they get folded up and put away only to rejuvinate when the item has been warmed up by the wearer. A nasty surprise!

    • Ouch that would get me in a frazzle too. We have so called stink bugs, slow moving creatures that pop up every where. In curtains and on your book when you are reading it etc. And when you startle, they startle and than you know why they are called stink bugs….

  7. Jeepers, I’ve never been that up-close and personal with this critters. We heard them a lot in Pennsylvania and it seems I only heard them a little bit here in Florida lately …

  8. I love your sketches, Joanna! There is so much light and life in them, all of them. That tree makes me happy just looking at it.

    It’s fun reading about the cicadas. It’s amazing that they can crawl out of their fully formed shells. That’s really something. love the sound they make. I wish we had them here more often. It’s been a few years now since I’ve heard them.

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment Alys! Is it because of the drought that cicadas declined? I love the idea that they are happily crawling around underground. I always thought they were quietly growing away.

  9. I found a cool site on Cicada’s that I think you might enjoy. I’m fascinated and plan to read more when I have more time. The extreme temperatures and the drought are indirectly contributing to the decline. California has lost millions of trees due to this drought. Also, the demise of lawns contributes as well.

    I love what they say about the confusion of cicadas being locusts. Fascianting. http://www.cicadamania.com/cicadas/

Leave a Reply

