Toronto and Art Again: Vilhelm Hammershøi and I…

 

selfie003So when we visited the AGO in Toronto last time, there was an exhibition on the master of painting serenity and stillness Vilhelm Hammershøi. To me, his work oozes that Scandinavian minimalistic style and elegance. The center of the exhibition was the painting “Interior With Four Etches”. A painting rarely seen before as it comes out of a private collection. I understand it is traveling around the world now and we were so lucky to admire it in Toronto.

IMG_3018
The Walker Men thought it a rather gloomy affair but I was in love. The light, the muted cool colors, the perfection in little details…

IMG_1141
This set up was a little joke the museum had set up to make it look as if you could be in the painting. Mr. Walker planted me on the chair right away and I was very happy.

selfie001
Although, I posses by no means even an ounce of this magnificent painter talents in any way…I could not resist this drawing…And I know it does not look like me at all. I personally would have turned the chair around and poured the Lady and myself a cuppa anyway!

Love and Liefs, Johanna

49 thoughts on “Toronto and Art Again: Vilhelm Hammershøi and I…

  1. What fun! And how nice of the exhibit organizers to know that there are some paintings and photographs people long to walk into. I like both the picture of you and your rendering of it. Years ago, here at the Corcoran Gallery, there was an exhibit called Northern Lights. it was the first time I had seen so many Scandinavian artists and I loved the aesthetic and the clean lines. I went to it over and over while it was in town. Your blog reminded me of it!

  2. It is a wonderful painting – and your recapitulation is a tribute that is still uniquely you. I love how the museum offered the chair so anyone could become a player in the scene……. I would have turned the chair round too!

  3. What a fun post. I love that you became part of this beautiful painting. Its moody in a really yummy way. I’d like to jump in there too! I really love your sketch, it puts a smile on my face. Thanks for the great post Johanna!

  4. Great photo and your drawing is wonderful. For a person who truly uses a ruler to attempt to draw a straight line, I always smile when I see your talents on display here. It must be nice to be able to draw. I’ll never know, but I can appreciate talent when I see it. 🙂

  5. I wasn’t familiar with this artist but went and looked at more of his work–I love it, too! There’s mystery in all that stillness. And the drawing of you! Ha! I think you just recently commented that you don’t draw selfies–can’t say that anymore! I love it . . .

  6. What a great idea by the curator to make that particular piece interactive and fun. I’d not seen his art before, thanks for the introduction. It’s looks so detailed yet soft on the eyes. The sharp perfection of the table is in contrast with the indiscernible art on the wall. How interesting. It’s Almost like looking through a window made of that wavy vintage glass. Somethings are in focus and others are not. The chair is irrelevant to me, I’d probably want to peak over her shoulder to see what’s she’s holding. Is it a book, a cup of tea, a letter from an admirer? Or did she sneak the last piece of cake from the empty plate? Very mysterious. The fun shines through both your photo and illustration, what a talent to draw what you see xo ❤ B

  7. Absolutely delightful Johanna! You and Mr. W. have a wonderfully wicked sense of humor-the photograph is wonderful-and thank you for the introduction to Vilhelm Hammershøi-I will definitely be looking for more of his work-

Leave a Reply

