The Walker Residence in Mid Century Modern Christmas Style..Sort Of…

dsc_0058

Finally, the house is in Christmas glory!! Much later than other years for two reasons. Well, my previous posts already revealed that on account of that crazy long summer weather my seasonal clock was a bit confused. Kerry’s fantastic blog helped to get me in the mood and I shared many memories and thoughts with her…might as well use them here to accompany the many photos I made this year ;o)


The other reason is, that the Walker Boys are coming home for the Holidays!! These hardworking, studying lads normally have to work all through the season and we travel to Toronto. But this year, they made it happen! The Oldest Walker Boy is arriving on Boxing day and the Youngest Walker Boy on the 30th!! We will have a proper Christmas on New Years Eve. And of course, by that time, I do not want to be bored with our decked halls and trimmed trees, the young menfolk love the Christmas decor!


So here goes…the Walker Residence in Mid Century Modern Christmas Style! Some photos look a bit weird because I used a wide angle lens.

dsc_0091
My dearest ornament is this strange glass bear-like creature. It was given to me when I was a little girl in the sixties and my sisters and I had our own ornaments and of course a big part of the holidays was spent on moving the ornaments in such a way that our own hung most prominent ;o) It hangs since a few years in my own tree and its a tiny miracle it survived many moves, attacks from pets and curious little children hands!



A lot of our furniture and nicknacks I found at garage sales and the likes. But Ikea understands Mid Century Modern too ;o)


Christmas music: I love of course the fifties golden oldies but my favorite Christmas song is Faye Lovski, “Christmas was a friend of mine” https://youtu.be/GnXdnUZmJ_o. She is singing about the Christmas of my youth! And I really like Jonathan Jeremiah’s “Happiness” https://youtu.be/ZjsbbdsFOOU because it reminds me of our long distance family traveling to each other for Christmas !

Horrible Christmas Memory: I was once in a Christmas pageant, I think I was 8 years. I was a rather clumsy little girl, due to late developing motor skills. Oh how I wished to be the Angel but the teacher for saw many troubles with me so she decided I could be one of the shepherds. Disappointing for me, but still at least I was ‘in’. Alas..I managed to get my robe hooked on the manger, it tumbled over and baby Jesus (thank goodness represented by a baby doll) rolled of the stage. Everybody was in shocked horror and I could add another moment of shame to my long list.

Splendid Christmas Memory: Years later I was head of the ‘children department’ in the church where we lived at that time and together with the other moms we started Christmas celebrations for the tiny toddlers. It was just 15 minutes (taking short attention spans in account) and there was always the delightful squeaky old wooden donkey involved who would bring Mary on his back, pulled by Josef into the church. A little story, a little song and a treat…and than outside for the live Nativity Scene. Oh those shining little faces!!. Within a few years hundreds of people came to it. It made me really happy and when people complained about tumbling toddlers in the church, you can understand they were met with stern reproaches and a quote of Jesus himself who stated “let children come to me!”.
(I grew up with many different churches and beliefs…to me its quite simple: as long as Love and Peace is the message, I am happy.)


Christmas Reading: I like to re-read “Miss. Buncle’s Book” by D.E Stevenson..not really Christmas, but so cozy. And of course never a Christmas without a good Murder Mystery of the Nice Kind:Snow storms, chique family, big mansion and butler are key ingredients. And the sweetest Christmas book of all: The Father Christmas Letters by J.R.R. Tolkien. On our honeymoon in Great Britain in 1988, we searched high and low for a copy which in itself was already a joy. But we finally found it in gorgeous bookstore in Edinburgh …one with dusty windows and mahogany bookcases. It was the best!!!

dsc_0062
Love and Liefs, Johanna

84 thoughts on “The Walker Residence in Mid Century Modern Christmas Style..Sort Of…

    • I think indeed all is ready ;o) I even made a truckload of the favorite Dutch treat: kroketten and have to warn Mr. Walker with many stern looks that the freezer is of limits!!! Are you having your family over?

    • Ha, believe it or not, but Charley is a vain dog! When I just hold up this collar, she comes running up and put her head right through it. Last year when she stayed at the boarding place, she walked proudly round with reindeer antlers (though that was NOT my idea) and when I bought her a winter coat on account of her getting on in years… Mr.Walker was horrified at first until he saw her walking around in it. He claimed that if Charley could talk, she would ask for a matching purse! ;o)

  1. I like your little creature clinging to what appears to be a bird house or feeder. It made me think of the Moomintrolls, but of course would not be one. Your house is so cozy and beautiful. I hope you enjoy your decorations and aren’t bored with them until well into January!

    • Thank you Lisa!! And I like the idea of it being a Moomin. Its also a family tradition to wonder each year, what it exactly is and why its clinging on to that birdhouse/treehouse. I think I will call it the Christmas Moomin from now on ;o) xoxo

  2. Ah, your home looks so lovely and inviting, Johanna! ❤️💚 I loved seeing your childhood ornament you told me about! I see you finished knitting your mittens! ❄️💙❄️ I enjoyed seeing all your special touches in your home including your sweet Charlie all dressed up for the season! 🎄🌟 Enjoy time with your family! xo

  3. Yahoo!!! The Young Mr Walkers will be in residence! Your home looks gorgeous and we all enjoyed your horrid Christmas memory being a bunch of terribly clumsy people ourselves 😊 I’m with you when it comes to churches…respect all, and abive all: peace. Love to youand yours xxx

  4. How great that you compiled and shared these memories here, so everybody can enjoy them! Your house looks spectacular, just as I would expect from you–you have that eye for setting things up perfectly!

    • Now I am blushing with flapping ears!! I love hunting my stuff down at garage sales and the likes and after 4 years in this house, its getting there!!! But of course..more hunting still to be done ;o)

  5. Great stories—we all have memories that either make our faces bright with joy, or, conversely, bright with shame. And, your house looks like Christmas! Wonderful decorations! I especially like the wee clothes edging the mirror. Happy holidays to you and yours!

  6. The Walker residence looks like Christmas at home to me during the 1960s! What a treat this was for me. I love that you have mixed Nordic (Is that correct?) with Mid Century Modern. Perfect. I saw all your glass and fabulous artwork. And, I’ve missed Charley so it was great to see Christmas appeals to him…He is rather MCM and Nordic himself. You did a really great job on hanging the artwork. That isn’t easy to do.
    Ginene

    • Thank you Ginene, being so stylish and in the business yourself I am even more chuffed to bits with your lovely compliments! Hanging art work is indeed a though job but after many moves and lots of studying and trail and error , we are pretty pleased with this. The glasswork is Mr. Walkers collection and started years ago when you could pick these pieces for a few dollars. Now I am lucky if I find one below the hundred dollar. Hugs from Charley and I wish Happy Holidays with all your loved ones!! xo Johanna

  7. Thank you for sharing your holiday decorations. Beautiful, warm and inviting. I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas.

  8. Johanna, your home looks amazing!!! How wonderful that ypur boys will be home for Christmas. Thanks for sharing your Christmas memories, too. We all have good moments and bad moments, and we grow and learn and they help to make us who we are, don’t they. And sometimes we can even look back and chuckle. 🙂 Ps: I admit a real fondness for Ikea- they do understand mid-century modern, and (unlike many other large conglomerates) the company seems to really try to conduct their business sustainably and responsibly. Merry Christmas!🎄🎉☃️

    • I agree, I think Ikea is still improving on ‘getting’ it right. And like the idea of me being green when shopping (hunting down treasures) second hand. Thank you so much for all your lovely compliments and happy Holidays to you and your loved ones too! xo Johanna

  9. Thank you so much for sharing these memories — the good and the not-so-good-but-actually-very-funny-now ones. Love and peace are what this season should be, no matter what our beliefs are or which faith we practice.

    • Never Sabine!! If you fly all the way form Germany, you would sit inside, nicely warm and comfy with hot chocolat and cake and Charley at your feet!!! I would be heartbroken, to find you outside, shivering and tired!!! xo Johanna ps Frohe Weinnachten, I hope your shifts will be peaceful, calm and tidy!

  10. Hello Johanna! Thank you for the tour of the festive Walker home. Everything looks warm and welcoming. Especially Charley ! How is the lovely girl doing these days? It’s great you’ll have your boys at home and you can spoil and pamper them to your hearts content. Have a wonderful time over the holidays, with love Kelly

    • Aloha Kelly, hows my favorite Canadian Girl doing?? It must be very busy at the store now! Charley is doing fine but she is getting on in age a bit. So an extra watchful eye and tlc: a warm coat, extra skincare and a warm blanket after after baths etc. She is enjoying getting extra care and having lots of naps in warm soft blankets ;o) She is 9 years old now but I think and hope she will stay with us for a couple years more. My therapy dog was 18 when she passed away and all my other reached the age of 14. So with some etrxa care and attention, we are still walking 2 hours everyday and enjoying the good things ;o)
      And I am indeed thrilled to have boys here!! What are your plans? xoxo

      • Happy dance in progress for both you and Charley. Two hour walks ! What a beautiful thing to do everyday and your slim figure proves it’s worth in that way too. I didn’t know you had a therapy dog Johanna, or if I did, I’ve completely forgotten. Eighteen is a very long life for a dog. Now that I do the math, a third of my entire life actually. Awwwsome! With all your TLC, my heart is wishing many more healthy years for Charley too. xoxox K

      • Yes brit was my friend, collegue and travel companion when I worked as a child therapist in The Netherlands and she worked with me in libraries in Canada. And she raised Charley! Still miss her..

  11. Oh Johanna. You had me giggling. The visual of the baby Jesus rolling off the stage….that’said really funny. I love your ornaments. I rescued from my parents decorations a very old plastic Snoopy ornament. It’seems cheaply made but it’seems the memories attached to that ornament. Charley is looking regal. Have a Merry Christmas.

  12. Oh Johanna. You had me giggling. The visual of the baby Jesus rolling off the stage….that’s really funny. I love your ornaments. I rescued from my parents decorations a very old plastic Snoopy ornament. It’s cheaply made but it’s the memories attached to that ornament. Charley is looking regal. Have a Merry Christmas.

  13. I am so pleased your boys will be home very soon! Your home looks so cosy and pretty – you are sure to have a wonderful time! I love your memories and enjoyed listening to your favourite music and finding out what your favourite Christmas books are. Christmas Blessings to you and all your loved ones – Clare xxXXxx ❤

  14. J, what a warm and welcoming home. I love mid-century furnishings. They have such clean lines. I’m smiling at you and your sisters re-arranging the ornaments on the tree. My sister and I would do something similar. We would also gradually eat the candy canes from the tree, then moving them around to hide the fact that the supply was dwindling. Thanks for helping me unearth that memory, but sharing so many wonderful memories of your own. Happy days ahead!

Leave a Reply

