Sketch Journal Project: Winter Nights and Black Paper

winternight-17003

It’s going to snow again and the temperatures dropped already. Last night I slipped on the deck, covered in unexpected ice…I really felt like making winter drawings.

However I also felt like using black paper again. I experimented with it before but sort of forgot about it. But lately I have seen Kerfe and Nina from Method to Madness experimenting a lot with black paper and they inspired me.

winternight-17005

So I combined both : winter drawing on black paper. After some sketches, the scarf and bird at the top appeared. I am happy with that one.

winternight-17004

Na wat lenteachtige maar ook regenachtige weken, komt de winter weer terug. Lekker sneeuw! T wordt al kouder en gisteravond glibberde ik over t terras met onverwachte ijzel. Tja dan krijg je wel zin aan winter tekeningen. Dit keer op zwart papier! Een leuk experiment.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

71 thoughts on “Sketch Journal Project: Winter Nights and Black Paper

  1. These are so dramatic! I like them all but I am most impressed, I think, with the way you did just a few lines to create the wonderful bird in the first drawing! Be careful on that ice–I just saw a friend yesterday who broke her arm slipping on last weekend’s ice!

    • I am happy you noticed the bird, I was a bit proud of that one. I try to loosen my style of drawing. And I also like that you can’t see wether it’s coming or going: a happy accident, I admit.

  2. Oh, now I remember – I followed the link back in time and as soon as I saw that first drawing I recalled your work on black paper. Gosh my memory holds nothing but the taste of chocolate these days! ๐Ÿ˜€ Of course I love the ‘love birds’ and the cats – but the scarf is quite wonderful!
    I go over on the ice every winter and do NOT recommend it! And you have further to fall than I! Take care xoxo

  3. Hi Johanna, I love your sketches on black paper! โค I especially like your first drawing with the patterns of your hat in blue. It is very striking with the black paper and white sketch. I love to draw my imaginary feathers on black paper with color pencils. Cheers friend! ๐ŸŒˆ

  4. It took me a moment to see the cap and scarf as well as the bird. How exciting to play with something and have it come out so stunning. I would love to do something so lovely in embroidery. Don’t remember seeing anything quite like it. You do such beautiful work.

  5. J, I’m sorry to hear of your fall. Ice is so unforgiving. Once you start to fall, there is no way to gain purchase again. I hope you’re not too sore.

    Your black paper sketches are wonderful. I like the simplicity of the white against the black. You’re so talented. It’s always a pleasure to read your posts.

Leave a Reply

