Thank You All & Cincinnati City Walk: Part I

dsc_0511

Thank you all so much for leaving kind and encouraging comments on my previous post. I am a 100% sure it sped up the healing process, it felt like a warm blanket, friends!!!

dsc_0522

But enough with the indulging in a little pampering! Sore backs don’t heal themselves, work needs to be done: exercises, rowing, swimming and above all walking.

dsc_0483

dsc_0485

Hilly nature walks are a step too far at the moment. So a nice walk through the city centre in the vicinity of Findlay Market it was and we brought the camera this time. In Spring weather the light is perfect for street photography.

dsc_0533

dsc_0497

So images from Cincinnati on a Saturday morning. This is our brand new street car!

dsc_0519

Cincinnati with its history with the meat industry, has a fondness of (flying) pigs. You find them everywhere.This is a window display at a butcher…I don’t think those pigs entirely agree ;o)

dsc_0525

dsc_0526

That costume of the tour guide of this guided tour is too beautiful for words!!!

dsc_0524

Cincinati is climbing out of recession and many building are done up beautifully at the moment. The contrast on what is and is not done yet, is clearly visible…

img_2475

And than a perfect ending in one of our favorite restaurant for a proper BBQ meal.

dsc_0491

Nou wat een lieve, leuke berichtjes kreeg op mijn vorige post. Daar knapt een mens van op hoor. Ik ben alweer aan de wandel en druk met oefeningen. In de modder ploeteren, op de heuvels in de wilde natuur is wat veel gevraagd nog maar een knusse stadswandeling met de camera in de aanslag zit er alweer in. Dit is Cincinnati op een zaterdag morgen met lekker lente weer.

dsc_0506

Love and Liefs, Johanna

72 thoughts on “Thank You All & Cincinnati City Walk: Part I

  1. So glad to hear that you’re doing better. Keep healing! Man, Cincinnati. The last time I was there was in 1970. It was a trip to the Shubert Theatre to see the Broadway production of HAIR. Don’t worry, I was way up top in the balcony and the actors all looked like ants! Couldn’t really see a thing. I was about 18 and my then boyfriend’s mom took us to see it. Yep, she was a progressive. I didn’t even know what it was about. I just knew I really liked the music! HA! So that was my Cincinnati story and I’m stickin’ to it! Hugs!

  2. I’m so glad you’re out and about. I love the look of old midwestern towns. A lot of times you can date the architecture of the most impressive buildings to a prosperous time, person or event. I’m sending a link to your blog to a colleague from Cincin who’s newborn got Cupcake and Rupert in the clouds. And I can tell her that Cupcake’s human made the first comment!! So glad you’re feeling up to activities that heal.

  3. Such fun! Saturday was a lovely day to be out and about in the city, and I am glad you felt well enough to explore. Have you ridden the street car yet? We have not but hope to sometime sooner than later.

  4. So glad you’re feeling better. πŸ™‚ I loved this walking tour of your city! All those lovely colourful buildings and no-one wearing big coats, so it must have been quite mild!
    Have a lovely week dear Johanna! xo

  5. Glad to hear you are healing, I sympathize – I’ve been walking every chance I get, but it has to be on a flat surface right now. I’m dying to get back to my mountains. Haven’t been to Cincinnati in a while, we used to stop there as a half way point when going to Iowa. Now we go through Dayton, as it is much quicker. I love the new street car, very cool. Thanks for the picture tour. For the record, bacon makes me happy too!

  6. So glad you are feeling better! Thanks for taking me on a tour of your city. Love the new street car, and I’m with Judy about the BBQ.

  7. IΒ΄m also sure the pigs donΒ΄t agree!! πŸ˜‰ Lovely pics, the buildings look fantastic! Especially the red one! So glad youΒ΄re feeling better and can already enjoy a walk through such a beautiful city! Sarah πŸ™‚ xxx

  8. What a great tour of one of my favorite cities. I attended UC from 1965 to 1969 and really loved experiencing the city. It was the first place I ever went shopping in vintage stores, went to the Finley Market, had five-way chili, went to Kentucky to hear Bo Diddly–great times. (I majored in Fine Arts at the College of Design, Architecture and Art–also a great experience). Kerfe also attended UC but not at the same time. Love Nati City!

  9. I have never been to Cincinnati but it looks beautiful! The thing that struck me most was how European the buildings look, especially the decorated ones, although maybe you are drawn to those kind of buildings with your European heritage! Good to hear you are up and about again.

    • I thought a lot about your comment, it really surprised me becuase to me these are very American images ;o) The fire escapes on the outsides, the art deco building, the over street hanging cables and the painted houses. So interesting, maybe you are right?

  10. So glad you are on your feet again and taking it slow. I’ve never been to Cincinnati but to other cities in Ohio. Stepdaughters lived there for awhile. I love the old buildings and they seem to be doing the regenerating thing all over the country. Saving the beautiful old and improving on it. Our city has those trains that run the length of it and goes into the outlying areas to ease the amount of traffic going into the city. We catch the MAX in the suburbs and take it into downtown. I can ride for $2.50 a day. πŸ™‚ Getting old has it’s benefits.

  11. You must be a lot better, to be out rambling around! I love street markets. I haven’t been to Cincy but it kind of looks like downtown Buffalo, with some glamour and some areas that need a lot of work. In Buffalo, we would go for Buffalo wings, not barbeque!

    • I think you are right, Cincy is a bit rough around the edges like Buffalo but maybe sunnier.We often cross the border in Buffalo and that does not take us through the nicest parts of that city. I am happy with BBQ : Chicken wings and potato skins are few things we do not understand….but hey, life in the USA is very good!!! xo Johanna

  12. This is my first visit to WP in weeks, and clearly you’ve had a rough time of it. Glad you are mending!
    Thank you for sharing some of Cincinnati with us. It’s been 20 years since I was there. Time to get back. Off to Part Two!

  13. Thanks for sharing all your great photo’s J. Your city is a star and each photo is truly interesting and full of wonderful architecture. I first noticed all the brick, then fancy corbels and finicky facades, ornate window sashes and carved pillars. When we say, “they don’t make’m like they used too”, surely we are referring to beautiful buildings like these. I loved all the colourful awnings along the Market walk too, what a treat to be outside. x B

  14. Beautiful promenade The town (or should I say city πŸ˜‰ ?) looks lovely . The buildings and architecture stand out!… sending best wishes. Happy new season! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

