Blog Hop Around the World!

Many thanks to the lovely Karen for inviting me to hop along. Karen’s blog is a feast for the eye and have a look at her incredible garden. Her recipes are out of this world too and her Thai Fish Cakes are a staple at the Walker Residence!

DSC_4106-001

And I take this opportunity too to thank all the lovely people who respond to my blog and leave kind, wise and encouraging words!

So now dear folks, I have to answer a few questions to tell you more about my blog and a little about myself…here we go!

1: What are you working on?

DSC_4163

Mrs. Walker Goes Back to School refers to me having art classes. When we moved from Canada to the USA, I decided ( with a little pushing of Mr. Walker and the Walker Boys) to finally take up Art Classes and develop my skills as an artist..a wish dear to my heart already for a long time.

dragon at the lake2

So that is what I am working on, developing my skills. I have drawing lessons, classes on working with color pencils, calligraphy and art history. My art is illustrative. I want my work to tell a story, not necessarily my story. I love the idea of people looking at my work and creating stories in their head or at least evoking some pleasant emotions.

2: How does my work differs from others.

That is a difficult question. I feel in a way, I am only just beginning. By focussing so seriously now on my work and the developing of my work, it becomes a clearer picture in what way I am heading. I love bright colors and sharp lines: color pencils and fine liners are my favorite tools. It helps me create the images I have in head. I like to bring movement and stories in my work by creating an impossible situation or  giving my ‘portraits’ lots of emotions. I hope this makes a little sense?

holland-001

I am always chuffed to bits when friends or family comment on new work with a ‘that is so in your style’ however to me ‘my style’ is still a work in progress.

3: Why do I create what I do?

Well…for two reasons.

DSC_3643  DSC_4121

Handcrafting is my yoga. I am a happy, down to earth person but not a calm and sedate one ;0) Sitting in Lotus position and chanting, would drive me nuts in 5 minutes..probably sooner. But endless rows of cross stitches, knitting loops, calligraphy strokes, calm my body and clear my busy head. The gentle movement of the crochet hook, the feel of the yarns, the gorgeous textures and colors..those are the things that bring my body, mind and spirit in balance.

DSC_7441-001

And than, I have this passion for Domestic History, I feel connected with that history when I follow old patterns or create my own.

My Art is my glorious challenge in life. I am not only evolving/developing as an artist but also as a person. I am not a shy or nervous person but I always kept my art to myself. I have always enjoyed drawing but I am never satisfied with the result.That is hard to explain.

Reading_color

My blog pal Kerry said to me: ‘Art is Personal’ and the great Pit from Texas said: ‘It’s the sign of a true artist that he/she keeps striving for perfection and in his/her own opinion never achieves it.’

That sums it up, right?

How does my creative process work?

First I have to muster up courage, overcome my insecurity, summon up my motivation… because in the end who is waiting for what I am doing/creating? I have a mantra for that.

The marvelous Dutch illustrative artist Octavie says: ‘ Alles is al eens gemaakt…maar niet door mij!’ Loosely translated it means: ” Everything has been done before…but not by me!”

That little sentence makes me so happy and never fails to motivate me. Thank you so much, Octavie!!!

DSC_3285

And I ‘feed’ myself with beautiful images made by great artists. I read a lot: books, blogs, magazines. I go to musea and exhibitions. I hike a lot and see the Glory of Mother Nature. I have a positive outlook on life and I always feed that too.

DSC_9003-001  DSC_2968

I feel encouraged with all the positive feedback I get from family, friends, and my fellow bloggers from all over the world. That is absolutely incredibly important.

And then…I simply feel a tingle in my fingers, an idea grows in my head, my paper in front of me, pencil in hand….

Twee-vrouwen-stargazers-001

Well, there you have it. My contribution to the Blog Hop Around the World.

I am delighted to pass the baton to Sheryl from Flowery Prose. This multi talented writer, gardener, photographer, nature lover and much more, resides in Alberta,Canada. I love her stories on plants and gardening and we share a passion for hiking and Mother Nature. Her writings are clear and pleasant and Sheryl has a great sense of humor. Despite her incredibly busy schedule, she takes the time  communicating with her fellow bloggers with a sincere interest and that same sense of humor.

Vaas-met-bloemen-001

Thanks Sheryl, I am so pleased with this and I look forward to your Blog Hop Post on the 18th of August!

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

 

27 thoughts on “Blog Hop Around the World!

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and more of your work with us–I love the movement in the rain picture, and the peacefulness of the women looking up at the night sky. But my favourite is the playful one of you reading by the fire with your pooch. Lovely.

    I am dead-on-my feet with school work, but I always take a moment to look at your posts when they enter my in-box. They make me smile. I think that says it all.

  2. SPLENDID POST!
    very inspiring illustrations.. and thank you for sharing the quote by the Dutch illustrative artist Octavie… I will remember this quote to try many things in future.. 😀

    • Thank you so much, Angela! I am happy you find the quote inspiring too. Despite the fact, that all of us, should just enjoy what we love to do…it is so nice to have a little encouragement from time to time ;0)

  3. Johanna, this is wonderful! You’ve explained your motivation so well and I just love the paragraph that starts with “Hand crafting is my yoga”–it says what I feel, too! I haven’t seen all these drawings before–you really are developing a clear, personal style! I especially love the one with the women looking at the night sky!

    • Thanks Kerry, that is such a nice reply!! I am so happy I started with this blog. And I do feel there is growth in my work, with all the classes, and responds. Very exciting, and than it is good to fall back on ‘yoga’ from time to time ;0)

  4. Super grote complimenten voor je mooie en inspirerende reactie op ‘Blog hop around the world’. Voor een niet-blogger zoals ik zijn dit de zetjes die ik nodig heb om ook de stap te zetten voor een blog. Dankjewel !!

  5. I love reading this and getting to know more about you, Johanna. I absolutely love your photos, especially the lightning shot. That is beyond breathtaking! And your artwork is just fabulous! I can see your artwork illustrating children and youth books. For that matter, when I look at your sketches, I can visualize little stories! This was a fun read! I wish you a good week! 🙂

    • Thank you for your lovely reply Linda! That Thunderstorm photo was taken in North Carolina and we had this view right from the deck in the Blue Ridge mountain. The camera was set up and took the photos automatically every few seconds.
      And it really makes me happy to find my drawings giving you littles stories!!

  6. Thanks Johanna for sharing your thoughts on the creative process. I was nodding at all your answers and thinking, “oh yes, me too”. When you spoke about ‘creating’ being your yoga. I can spend hours in the craft room, working away and a project and completely lose track of time. Nothing on my list gets done because I’m busy focussing on fun, colour and balance. Then, I can sleep well and deep knowing that my brain had a good workout that day. Very therapeutic 😀

  7. I think it’s so wonderful that you’re taking the opportunity to pursue and explore your art – and it’s such a treat for us to see the delightful works you share on your blog! The quote from Octavie is one we can all take to heart – it’s so true!

    Thank you so much for the kind words and for inviting me to participate in the blog hop! I’m excited to join in next week!

  8. What great insight on what motivates you. I completely understand the satisfaction of moving your hands in a rhythm and creating something. To me, this is one of the most satisfying things I can do.

    You know, it is really hard to put your own work out there in the public’s eye, but it is also so rewarding. Your drawings are lovely and do tell a story. I like their quality of being light and delicate but also familiar and comforting.

    I’m so happy to meet you and see all these lovely images and words you are drawing, photographing and writing.

  9. Dear Cathe, I am so happy to have met you too. You have left me with so much encouragement and I am so happy that you used the words comforting and storytelling, that is exactly what I would like achieve and that is what I feel myself when I work…hugs from Ohio, Johanna

  10. So good to read your blog hop. Craft, even the little I do of it, is very therapeutic, soothing etc. Your drawings are a delight. I love the women looking at the stars, and the beautiful bouquet at the end.

Leave a Reply

