Diorama

DSC_3950

Definition of DIORAMA according to merriam-webster.com:

  • a scenic representation in which a partly translucent painting is seen from a distance through an opening
  •  a scenic representation in which sculptured figures and lifelike details are displayed usually in miniature so as to blend indistinguishably with a realistic painted background
  • a life-size exhibit (as of a wildlife specimen or scene) with realistic natural surroundings and a painted background

DSC_3955

I have a passion for dioramas. To me, they have that eerie Victorian feel of beauty and somewhat gruesomeness: these scenes locked in a jar. ..yes, try to analyze that ;0)

DSC_3965

I love making them from found objects and things I find in thrift stores for next to nothing. Odds and ends from drawers with no real purpose (anymore). I am totally in love with this wedding cake ornament..poor things waited for me in a box with other treasures for 0.25 cents.

DSC_3969

I never think out/ design a diorama ahead of time. I just lay out a group of things and look at my collection of glass containers of any kind and I let it happen.

DSC_3968

In my opinion…one should not think too much ;0) But they do make lovely objects to photograph, not?

DSC_4061-001

One day I will go to New York and look at the most beautiful dioramas in the world in this museum.

Ik heb een passie voor dioramas en vind t heerlijk ze ook zelf te maken van allerlei overgebleven dingetjes die ik overal en nergens vandaan haal. Op een dag, ga ik naar New York, naar dit museum om de mooiste diorama’s in de wereld te bekijken.

Love and Liefs, Johanna

 

19 thoughts on “Diorama

  1. What an intriguing hobby, Johanna! Yes, a little gruesome but, then, the Victorians seemed to love the dark side of life. I like how moody and still the creations are–the reflections from the glass create a whole new world.

    • You hit the nail right on the head again, Kerry. It is that dark mood and often bizarre behavior ( to our minds) I find so fascinating from the Victorians. Another example: Victorians had an obsession with ferns..pteridomania. Utterly intriguing !

      • It always makes me shiver a little…but still! Umbrella stands made of elephant legs,inkwells out of ram’s skulls, making casts of children feet and ears: Queen Victoria herself had a whole collection of these. No wonder the who-dunnits novels became so popular…

  2. Oh, this is such a lovely post! You have made perfect little worlds inside your glass domes. They are simply magical and so special Johanna. I love them!

    • Ha, I am so pleased you enjoyed this , my Floridian friend and share my Victorian fondness too. But I do wonder about that wedding cake ornament…I think that male dove is quite overpowering ;0) And it is a big thing too, must have been a sizeable cake! Had to take it home;0)

  3. I really like your buffalo next to the cottage under the cheese dome. I’m always on the hunt for miniature goodies for my Fairy Garden. My dear friend Alys got me on to it and now I’m rather addicted. I shall meet up with her on Monday in Victoria, BC Canada. Being from different countries, we have to make the most of our time together. I can’t wait 😀

  4. Happy you like this! Your fairy gardens are very pretty and I love the poem that you made for it!
    Alys has lived in Canada for while. I lived in Canada from 2005 till 2012…it makes us all cousins right? ;0)
    Well, you two friends have a lovely time together!

Leave a Reply

